You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alzheimer's is Satan

in #health7 years ago

I feel your pain my fellow steemian.
My father was diagnosed with both Alzheimers and Dementia at the age of 66.
He was also a genius and chose the lifelong field of running data processing centers.
Since he was divorced and I was his only child it was a very terrible journey for the two of us, especially when I had to place him in a secured facility.
He would have many periods of perfect clarity, begging me to not take him back where I had him or calling me at all hours pleading to be picked up, then the dementia introduced an abusive side of him like I had never seen from anyone, especially my loving father. He passed three years later.

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to hear of your loss, and the long ordeal you both suffered. Of course the worst part for me was losing the person I knew even before he died.

Definitely the most slow painful part of the disease.