Float Tank - Sensory Deprivation Rebranded

in #health7 months ago

Floating - Sensory Deprivation Rebranded

I have wanted to float since the first time I heard about it as a young psychonaut. It was originally called a sensory deprivation tank but I guess that sounds scary so they rebranded and started calling them float tanks. I spent an hour and a half in that tank and it felt like 20 minutes achieving deep rest and a feeling of rejuvenation that lasted for a week.

A float tank is a shallow bath of body temperature water filled with epsom salt.. The salt makes you float and when you lay back your seem to melt into the water. With earplugs in and the lights out the experience is complete deprivation of all senses. Many people report out of body experiences or deep meditative states.

It was not easy to find a sensory deprivation tanks until more recently. I envisioned it to be a cold experience of facing fear in a clinical type setting. The was based on my never seeing a tank only hearing or reading about them. When establishments started opening I realized that it was much more of a spa like experience under the new branding of Floating.

I visited Hampton Float in Water Mill NY. The decor is very modern and serene which puts you at ease as soon as you walk in. They have individual private rooms with a place to change and shower before entering the tank. Some establishments have pods in the middle of rooms. The private nature of the room is a nice.

https://www.hamptonsfloat.com

I got in the tank and floated around with the light on for a few minutes to get a feel for it. then I laid back and turned off the light. I was floating for what felt like 10 minutes when I began to feel like I was spinning. I felt around for the light. it took a minute in the complete darkness to catch my bearings. When I got the light on I was able to stop the spinning but was a little nauseous. I was considering getting out for a minute to get my stomach back to normal when the music began to play signaling time was up. Apparently what I thought was 10 minutes was more like an hour.

While I did not astro plane It was very deep rest and I felt much less anxious for about a week after the float ! Anyone else float? What was your experience?

Here are a few more images from inside!!

Sort:  

I never tried but would like to!

I try to go every few months. If you have a place close get in !!

Congratulations @bobbyscaps! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023
HiveFest Meetings Contest

That's not at all how I pictured it. Cool post.

you were thinking lab style torture also?

Hello, have a nice day @ezrider you are busy I cannot see you, and I miss your upvotes. Please...Thank you.