You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Physical Activity is Good for Your Brain and Helps Prevent Dementia

in #health7 years ago (edited)

It shouldn't be surprising to us that so many "old age" illnesses are at least in part prevented by good habits in our younger life. We were built to move. I don't blame all the people working these crazy long hours stuck behind desks for feeling too tired at the end of the day, but it's so important for our future health to make the effort.

I've always been a bit of an indoorsy type but I have a big labrador who needs a lot of exercise so I usually spend 2 hours plus a day hillwalking/hiking with him. I also love skating, I was more of a quads roller skate person up until I quit roller derby, but inline skates are so much more versatile, quads are really useless for outdoors even with the softest of wheels. But I live in Scotland so that's weather dependent! I also do yoga, which I know many people don't consider "real" exercise but I always feel an body and mind boost after I do it and it has improved m strength and flexibility no end.

Sort:  

Great job, 2 hours of hiking or hilwalking, good stuff. Yoga is good, despite not being intense for muscle, it's good for exercise. Thanks for the feedback.