Steemit Community Awareness Message #1: by Chrystal-Dawn - What in the World is Gaslighting?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Simple Terms



Gaslighting is more prevalent than most people who are going through it think. It is becoming a popular and common form of emotional abuse that happens to a unsuspecting victim(s) which, is why it so effective for the narcissistic abuser. What gaslighting really is in simple terms is one person or a group of people oppressing another person or a group of people. The victim(s) in this case are emotionally abused in a manner that they often end up questioning themselves, others and their own sanity. The victim in a gaslighting case is made to feel like they are going crazy, that things said or done, never happened.

Bringing awareness to this issue can and will help people understand what it is and what it's all about, so if they see it happening or have it happen to themselves, they can take the necessary steps to dismantle it or the abuser/oppressor engaging in it. This awareness message is my way of dismantling the oppressors, giving power back to the oppressed and help myself and others become a better ally.



The Major Signs You Are Being Gaslighted




If one allows gaslighting to happen because there are simply unaware, it will give the oppressor more of an advantage to have power and control over everything in the victims life. This is a brief video however, PHD Patrick Wanis fully explains where gaslighted originated and is a good video for starters!



There are still too many members of society that are unaware of and oblivious to topics such as this, that are unbelievably true. I am talking about problems facing others within and all around us in society and all around the world. In response to this, I have decided to start Steemit Community Awareness Messages whereby, I pick a weekly or daily topic that I feel needs to be addressed. This week I have decided to talk about gaslighting.


Example of Gaslighting EXPOSED!


This video is a perfect example of how gaslighting works. It is extremely subtle but watch and listen carefully to how it actually happens in real life!!!


I appreciate your taking the time to read this article. It is extremely important to me that we build awareness on this issue so please upvote, comment and resteem!! Much appreciated!


followmelogopng.png
Feel Free to Follow Me @Chrystaldawn and the PLEASE:


Sources and Image Credits:
Image #1: https://iboostimmunity.com/resources/articles
Image #2: https://me.me/t/gaslight

upvotelogo.png

Sort:  

Thank you for this excellent article. I found it very interesting and have never heard the term before. It also explains a lot for me and I can definitely relate to a lot of the signs. I would not have found this article until you followed me. I've followed back and will resteem.

Well, its not that I hadn't heard of it, it's that I believe a lot of people don't understand what it is or what its about. Things like gangstalking, targeted people ect. I will be writing more about those topics to try and build awareness that people are oblivious to. thank you for such a nice comment, and follow me, keep in touch, hope all is well and hang in there my friend. [email protected] if you want to talk :-)

Great topic and thank you for being a voice against gaslighting :)

awesome article, thank you for your awareness message,
you need more exposure, and I think 5 steem tips project would help,
steem on, helping makes steemit a better place :)

you are such a sweetheart! Thanks babe!!! xoxo

I enjoyed watching them! thank you