On the Way back to Me

in #health6 years ago (edited)

On my journey to becoming a Life and Wellness Coach I spent the last 5 days in Boone, NC. We stayed at the Art of Living Retreat Center where they specialize in Natural Healing and they are rated #1 Ayurveda Spa by Organic Spa. I am trying to learn the different dietary theories. We have hundreds to choose from and not one specific dietary eating plan fits for every person.
Ayurveda is an ancient health care tradition that has been practiced for at least 5,000 years in India. The word comes from Sanskrit terms Ayur (life) and Veda (knowledge).

I want to tell you about this amazing massage I had called MARMA: Replenishing Energy Treatment. Before I get to the best part which was this MARMA massage here is some background information. I met with a Ayurvedic Vaidya and she gave me insight on my individual nature or DOSHA? What does this mean? The body is made up of five elements: Space, Air, Fire, Water, and Earth. Physiologically, these elements function as three bio-dynamic forces or Vata Dosha, Pitta Dosha, and Kapha Dosha.
You will never believe this but your DOSHA can get imbalanced. There is specific diets for each Dosha and you can find a quiz online to see which one you feel might be your individual nature. I was a PITTA! I wasn't really surprised that my PITTA DOSHA was imbalanced. I had to fast until my appointment and the doctor did a pulse assessment. Read at the very bottom I will tell you about the Marma Massage. Honestly there is really something to our energy and how we can stimulate specific energy points to unblock emotional baggage, stress, health issues, rejuvenate the vital organs of the body, and settle the nervous system. Remember read to the bottom. First here are some articles on the above topics.
()
()

Marma is a Sanskrit word meaning hidden or secret. A marma point is a juncture on the body where two or more types of tissue meet, such as muscles, veins, ligaments, bones or joints. Although Marma points are much more than a casual connection of tissue and fluids, they are points of the vital life force. When imbalances block the movement of free-flowing energy in the body, the resulting stagnation leads to physical and mental discomfort and disease.

When we touch Marma points we stimulate the body’s biochemistry to produce exactly what the body needs, including neurochemicals and hormones that heal the body, mind and consciousness.

Benefits of Marma therapy

all the benefit of traditional massage
strengthens the organ systems and tissues
regenerates tissue
relieves physical and mental blockages of energy
helps remove excess ama (toxins)
prevents aging
improves lymph
increases the protection from vata disorders
nourishes the body
encourages good sleep
improves physical stability
balances the dosha
helps easy flow of energy through the energy channels.
helps to release blocked energy helping prevent disease.

()

This isn't me in the above picture but the lady who took my pulse was exactly right! She told me I was holding on to resentment and it was impacting my imbalance? WHAT? Prior to my massage I thought she got me confused with someone elses energy. Nope, She was spot on! After my massage it was like I was floating on a cloud! Seriously! Anyway I highly recommend the Art of Living Retreat Center and check out Marma Therapy the next time you are in a Ayurveda Spa!!!