Help against stress from Ayurveda: Ashwagandha

in #health8 years ago

Hi, steemers.
I'd like to start this blog with the first of a serie of articles about health, food and herbal medicine.
Today I want to speak about Ashwagandha.

No, wait Ash.. what??

Ashawaghanda is a famous herb in Ayurvedic medicine (or indian ginseng).
Since I don't want to write a boooooring encyclopedic article, these are the properties:
* Tonic and Adaptogenic (help recovery from stress)
* Tranquilizer
* Anti-inflammatory
* Analgesic
* Increase longevity in the eldery
* Enhances the function of the brain and nervous system and improves the memory.
* Antioxidant properties.
* Improving the cell-mediated immunity.
* Improving reproductive system promoting a healthy sexual and reproductive

Hi man don't tease me, i think you want to sell me any sort of supplements!

So, I want to be honest with you. I tested it on myself for about 6 months and I'm going to explain you what I think about it.
I consider myself a very skeptical person but I have to tell you that this herb amazed me.
I think the importance of this herb is the coexistence of two opposite effects:
* Tonic and Adaptogenic
* Tranquilizer
In the past I've tried tonic herbs like Panax Ginseng or the common coffe in order to improve focus, memory and energy, but this Ayurvedic herb seems to be a nootropic and a tranquilizer at the same time.
This herb relaxed me during stressed periods and improved my focus, energy and motivation.

Ok "know-all" man, you have almost convinced me, but I think there is an infinite list of collateral effects!!

This herb has been studied several times and no serious side effects have been reported.
People with hyperthyroidism may need to stay away from this herb (see the bottom of the page)
My advice is: try to start with an half spoon and increases it till a full spoon.
Effects may vary from person to person

Disclaimer: I'm not a physician but I like to speak about health.
I'm not here to prescribe you herbs but I want only to report my experience and what I read from the scientific publications (on pubmed).
You can see the scientific publications on the bottom of the page.