You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Purdue Says It Will Stop Marketing Its OxyContin To US Doctors

in #health6 years ago

I've done my best to get out of it. Doctor's appointments with 4 different specialties used to be my social life.

Once I lost "half my size" the fitness trainer I was working with suggested I see all my doctors and get some of the 20+ meds cut back. He reasonably thought that the dose for a person near 150 pounds should not be the same a when I was close to 300.

Well, no - all the doctors wanted me to stay at the same dose. none of the meds could be reduced at all. I was feeling so much better then and decided to quit all of them and go back if I needed to. That took about a year with my doctors unhappily weaning me off of everything.

Now after 5 years I take NOT ONE of the medications and still feel fine. I stopped seeing the doctors after this point and I feel fine about that too.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Probably a life saving move on all accounts. ❤️💪

Very true. I would not be here today if I was still obese and so ill all the time.

I think I need some of your inspiration to get fitter!

I congratulate you in my head every time I come across you in comments @fitinfun!