You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stuttering - My story and healing through brain symmetry

in #health7 years ago

You said that after some research you found out it was not a trauma-induced stuttering, then you wrote about the traumatic grasshopper experience and I got confused to what actually caused the stuttering.

I'll share some metaphysical reasons and wonder if you have heard about them. Also I will share my stuttering story. The following psychologists ascribe metaphysical reasons to stuttering - Louise Hay (American), Liz Burbo (Canadian) and Vladimir Zhikarentsev (Russian). The link is in Russian, so I translate to English:

Hay and Zhikarentsev (they say roughly the same)

Reason: unreliability, no possibility to express oneself, forbid to cry
Positive affirmation: "I can freely stand up for myself. From now on, I express everything that I need without worry. I interact only with the feeling of love."

Burbo

Emotional block: the stutterer was afraid to express his needs and wants in childhood. He feared those who appeared to have authority, especially he was afraid when he needed to to say or do something (in front of them).
Mental block: it's time to realize that you are allowed to express your desires, even when your head is telling you that it would be irrational, or when you are afraid that someone would judge your desires unlawful. You do not need to justify yourself before anybody. You can allow yourself anything you want, because you are responsible for the actions you take anyway. All people do this.
You look upon others as authorities, but there is authority in you that wants expression. When you realize, that this authority is not evil and can even help you, it will reconcile you with those who you treat as authorities.

I started stuttering I think after 6, but it came slowly so I don't remember any specific event. I do remember when it felt the worst - in 9th grade (15 y.o.) when I could sit with an aching lump in the throat and a chest pain during the whole class, afraid that the teacher would ask me a question and I'd stutter in front of everybody. I went to a speech therapist who showed me the iceberg - 90% is feelings underneath the surface that nobody notices except you. And he showed me exercises like reciting the alphabet "ap-ap-apple, bo-bo-boat, c-c-cent, ..." that helped.

Later I began to realize that the stuttering is a block which as anything else in life can be circumvented in some way, like a rock doesn't stop the flow of the river. I began letting go of my expectations of how I would sound or would not sound and just talked, whatever happened, letting the flow out. Since then it became much better, although I can still have it sometimes. Ten years ago I would never think of telling this to anyone, but now I feel comfortable sharing because I hope to empower any stutterer out there.

And regarding the music, in my experience it does lower the amount of stuttering, like any action you do where you get into a flow, be that music, painting or skydiving. Just let the energy inside flow freely and it will lift you.

Sort:  

Thank you for this detailed answer!
I was told that the shocking moment was not the reason, but I though it a long time. In real it started years after this moment, so there was anything other than this.
The secret is the flow, here you are 100% right!
And there are a lot of ways to come into that flow. Drumming was my way.
If you look to my videos you will never think that I was stuttering so hard :) It is gone away now.