The Journey | Fasting 36 hour update

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Outside of my vlogs explaining what I am doing, I am going to update with how I am doing. I hope you enjoy this journey with me.



I started my fast 36 hours ago. Luckily, Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) and I already intermittent fast daily. We normally eat between 12 noon and 8 p.m. This allows for an eight hour window to typically have two meals and maybe alittle something in between. I have been doing this since June 2016. I feel like it has already changed my life and see no reason to ever stop. This means that I actually started around 8 p.m. on Tuesday. By the time I woke up on Wednesday I was already 12 hours in.....how hard could this possibly be.

Wednesday carried on like any other day. I drove to town and ran errands with my best pal george. We picked up some things at the library and just piddled around. I taped several vlogs as I anticipated these couple of days. I love what I do, and plan to win the internet.

Evening came and I was still editing video and interviews from Nashville. Tomorrow I will be posting my interview with IJ @steemcafe. Life has been a whirlwind since we got home, and we are taking it all in stride. Stacie D started dinner and the house filled with the smell of spaghetti. Our tiny 16x16 home has no where to get away from the kitchen, unless you go outside.

With the beautiful smell in the air my stomach started to notice it was empty. There was some serious rolling and uproar. I popped in my ear buds and began watching videos. Mostly inspirational or spiritually informational.

The day closed with zero issue. I blazed past 24 hours and set my sights on the morning. When the sun rose this morning I was just about at 36 hours. The feelings were different. I felt calm. Like I didn't want to jump out of bed and start running, but was plenty aware and able to operate....just slower.

After researching other peoples experience online I knew that this was a time for listening to my body and resting. So, naturally I asked Stacie D if she would like to take a walk.

We headed out like normal for a 20-25 minute walk. Nothing too hateful. A couple of hills and it is all black top. We started out the driveway and immediately down the first hill. Since I am also "vocal fasting" the only sound was the soles of our shoes connecting with the blacktop. I could see so many flowers. Each bird that chirped got my attention. Since I wasn't filling the space with my own words I was able to take in more. It felt as though my senses were turned up.

We made it to our first turn around ,because we walk back and forth on the road, and I was winded. It was at that point I heard my body wisper something about hating me. We carried on and back up the hill toward our driveway and continued down to the stop sign. When we reached the driveway I was winded again and felt a little "funny". Almost like I had been holding my breath while walking. I put it together that my body isn't used to just breathing. I am usually talking so much and so fast....I breathe when I can. So for me to walk and actually take deep breaths was alittle dizzying.

We made it to the stop sign and then most of the way back to the house and I knew I was pushing it. I motioned that I was done and we headed in to stretch. Stretching went amazing and I was mindful about bending over and then standing up too quick. I did some standing shoulder exercise for my shoulder I seperated in December. We finished with a 1 minute plank and floor stretching. I feel great. I felt that I was engaging more muscles and my body was responding well to any and all stimulation.



I am now sitting out under the trees. I am feeling very reflective and emotional. Since I began my spiritual journey several years ago I have been more sensitive to the energy around me. I often get filled with rogue energy from other people and situations. Most times I can walk barefooted and alone and the energy will settle. When I pray and meditate I feel a heightened sense of energy moving through me and that is what I am feeling now.

I am steuggling just a bit to get this written because the life around me is getting my attention. Everytime george scratches I hear it. Each and every beautiful bird singing in the trees. My chickens pecking around and crowing. The few rain drops that have fallen hitting the broad oak leaves.

I feel that I am going the right direction. Today Is going to be a day of reflection and rest. I am going to do some editing later and try to carry on as normal. But for now...I am going to knock on the sky and listen to the sound.

-The Yeti

Sort:  

Thanks for the update, stay strong(as best as you can) and faithful!

Most interesting to read about the fasting, and the 12 - 8 eating pattern.

What sort of mechanisms in the body do you think are at play that benefit from the non-eating periods?

I particularly find if I am outside working I can go much longer periods without eating.

When I am inside at the computer I feel the need to eat more often, even though I am expending way less energy.

Getting to understand one's body is one of the benefits of the years passing.

I am coming to terms with the fact that I am my mind and my body is mine...like a way to convey my thoughts in the physical world. Typically being outside is distracting. I also eat less when I am active.

Not sure which mechanisms as acting in which way. There is heightened awareness,fat burning, muscle response...just my opinion.

With long term fasting is alittle different. There are studies that talk about increased autophagy(recycling damaged cells). There are also articles that talk about what it does for rebooting your immune system and digestive systems. It encourages your body to start burning keytones, so burning fat for fuel.

I am not sure I am the person the explain the science...but I can be the handsome beard that experiences it haba.

I sorry i have not been on but glad you put up a update.

Welcome back!

Yeti! It's weird you post this, I did a 24hr fast the other day and have been intermittently fasting myself. I understand what you're talking about with the awareness. It's almost like your state of awareness becomes super heightened. I was open to absorb more, and I actually had a pretty vivid dream. I used to have them all the time when I was younger. I've always been a lucid dreamer, up until I started college and a career. I've missed it so much, but it seems like detox, fasting, meditation can bring me back to that state. Have you ever heard of Nassim Haramein? He has a documentary called the connected universe I think you'd like to check out. http://www.theconnecteduniversefilm.com/

Sweet. I will check it out! Thank you for sharing your experience. That is encouraging. Just taking it slow and steady and seeing what happens!

Fasting makes you faster 😉

Haha so far so good. I felt encouraged after talking with you...my mind is certainly in a different place!

Extended fasting is an amazing thing. It becomes easier to focus and think and pray. @ironshield

So far...it is getting better. Clear mind. Focused thoughts and ideas. When i pray I find myself asking questions i normally wouldnt...

Miss seeing those dtube vids. Did you quit the daily vlog?

Nope....still doing a vlog daily. I just changed how I load it. I have decided to not use dtube anymore, but I am experimenting with dlive and youtube. Trying to find a more consumable model for my posts.

Why wouldn't you just load to all of them? Just curious really.

i do like to do dlive, but i had people saying they couldnt get it to load. Youtube loads for everyone and displays in the post versus taking them to another page. So it is one upload not two.

I could see that saving you some time. How much longer until we see the bus? :)

Oh man....i am so ready to hit the road! So, soon i hope. Just trying to make it one day at a time.