You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alzheimer's is Satan

in #health7 years ago

It is the first time I hear something about Alzheimer is called Diabetes type 3 . In my experience I have a grandmother with 10 Years with Alzheimer and of course she has lost his mind almost completely , she only recognizes my aunt, mi mom and me because We are the people she sees everyday , but this sickness has been so hard for all of us and her, but in his case she hasn't had problem with the glucose rather she has a perfect nivel of glucose even better than mine.

Maybe in the nexts days I post something talking about this and my experience.

And man I really sorry for your lost.

Sort:  

Thank you, and I have sympathy for your troubles as well.

Type 3 Diabetes is not about glucose levels but more about damage to the brain's ability to handle insulin (insulin resistance). There is some debate about the term, but at least some of the cases seem to respond to treatment based upon it.

Here is a decent reference. Difficult to read but the conclusion at the bottom of the page is - "Altogether, the results from these studies provide strong evidence in support of the hypothesis that AD represents a form of diabetes mellitus that selectively afflicts the brain. " - wherein they showed that oxidative stress (as caused by insulin resistance) causes Alzheimer's symptoms in mice.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2769828/