THE BENEFITS OF COCONUT WATER

in #health7 years ago

How often do you drink or use coconut water?

Are you aware of the amazing benefits of this nature's gift to us?

I believe you have answers to these few questions and ppppleeaaassseee, do not hesitate to share your responses with the steemit community in the "comment section".

Well, whatever is your response, I am happy to share with you some remarkable benefits we can derive from this amazing fruit known as coconut.

Coconut fruit is botanically known as a drupe and is remarkable for its great popularity all over the world. Yes, I doubt if there is any part of the continent that one cannot find coconut. But peradventure there is no coconut in your country, please simply indicate by raising up your thumb 😄   ☝

Maybe, someone from the steemit community can volunteer to come over to your country and plant some coconuts for you guys. Well, enough of the jokes now! 😄

Coconut is edible and can serve different purposes ranging from edible, culinary, medicinal, cosmetology and  traditional uses. Both the tree, leaves and drupe are very useful in one way or the other. And this is the reason why I refer to it as nature's gift to humanity. One unique characteristic of coconut is its constituent of large amount of water, which is popularly referred to as coconut water or coconut juice. 

Coconut water is the clear liquid in a coconut and has been a popular drink in the tropical region such as  Brazil, Southeast Asia,the Caribbean, India and Africa.

Coconut water can be served fresh, tinned, canned, chilled or packaged. Recently, coconut water has been marketed as an energy or sports drink because of its high potassium and mineral content. It also contains low fat level, carbohydrates, and calories.

Coconut water remains absolutely sterile unless the coconut has been damaged. Coconut water occurs naturally and  is very rich in chloride, potassium, sodium and carbohydrate hence regarded as a hydrating beverage in the world. Clinically, this naturally occurring water can be used as an oral dehydration to replace loss fluid during vomiting and diarrhoea from gastrointestinal tract in patients.

Coconut water can also be used as an intravenous hydration fluid when medical saline is not obtainable and this has been used with success. It contains antioxidant properties which aid in neutralizing reactive oxygen species due to exercises (Kalman et. al 2012). 

 Many people prefer natural alternatives to manufactured sport drinks because sport drinks contain fructose, electrolytes, maltodextrin, artificial flavours and sweeteners which can be detrimental to health.

Even though water tends to be the solution  for some individuals however, sports men and women involved in longer duration exercise and sports bouts often require electrolytes and carbohydrate for replenishment of loss strength and nutrients hence these individuals are highly recommended coconut water.

Coconut water is low in fat hence is recommended for weight conscious individuals as one can drink as much as one wants without fear of weight gain and excessive foods cravings. It aids in digestion due to its hydrating properties. It is very low in sugar hence can help to  prevent diabetes if one drinks it.

 The anti-fungal and antiviral components of coconut water helps prevent diseases and illnesses such as flu, herpes and viruses. This natural water helps to revitalise cells and promote good body metabolism due to the potassium and sodium constituents. 

This article is from GLOBALFOODBOOK where many more health-related articles are also available.

If you enjoy this post, please feel free to upvote, resteem and follow @globalfoodbook

Cheers!

Sort:  

I've been hearing a lot about coconut oil and its health benefits. My wife is from the Philippines and there are coconuts everywhere. Probably why filipino's look healthy all of the time. cheers.

Hi Crowe,
Many thanks for your contribution!

Yes, you heard correctly. Coconut oil is packed with numerous health benefits. Well, let's give kudos to your wife and the Philippines for tapping into all the benefits that coconut can offer.
One thing is to have something and the other is to acknowledge the importance of what you have. So kudos to them.
Let me also mention that coconut oil has been my body cream for the past one year and I must confess that I have seen remarkable improvement in my skin colour and texture. The benefits of coconut oil is countless and hopefull I will share with the entire steemit community any time soon.

sounds fantastic. Have a great day.

You too. Cheers

Put the lime in the coconut and drink it all up.... :)

Wow! That sounds like an amazing and refreshing drink. I'll give it a try. Thanks for sharing this tip.

I could not have said it better @globalfoodbook

......................................................................................................................

Do you have a nomination for the next draw for Steemian-of-the-Day?

Someone who has done a random act of kindness and share what that was or the post.

Nominate here: https://steemit.com/@healthiswealth

This picture takes me back to India. Every time I go to India we live off of what's called Dobbs the green coconut they crack it open fresh for you cut it down from the tree and eat the sweet malai after drinking the coconut water. It is a big breakfast actually you get pretty full from one Dobbs

Wow! That sounds interesting. No doubt you guys will always be looking forward to the dobbs. cheers

i drink Coconut water often, its really refreshing especially since im living here in Singapore where its constantly hot ^^

Oooops. Yes, coconut water is very good for hydration. Continue to enjoy it.

I use coconut oil for everything. I don't think I have ever tried coconut water but my wife and daughter like drinking it.

Both the coconut oil and water are just amazing. They are important ingredients that shouldn't be missing in our homes. My greetings to your wife and daughter.

Yes, coconut water is WONDERFUL!
I just bought some more of it yesterday
I think that I'ld better go get one and drink it right now.

I just drank one now so go grab one for yourself @canadian-coconut
Even your name suggests that you are a great fan of coconut.

Yes. Coconut oil #1, but also Coconut water.

You are right! Coconut oil is just phenomenal. I can't overemphasize on it.
Cheers

I love coconut water :) And indeed, it's great for health!

Absolutely good for the health. Keep enjoying it!

These are great!! I usually detox on 3 coconuts a day (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner) with a probiotic. Do this for 3 days and you will feel 20 years younger!!

Yes they are great.
Wow! Am happy to learn this great tip from you and will definiitely give it a try. Many thanks Jack.

I love fresh coconuts!

Keep enjoying them!

My family and I have been drinking coconut water for a long while now.
I use coconut oil for cooking, baking, as skin food, hair conditioner, and as an antiseptic on wounds. I healed a bite wound on my dog's ear with coconut oil over two weeks. The dogs also eat a spoonful every day. As do.
Coconut flour is great for thickening sauces, and for baking.
You could say I'm a bit of a (coco)nut. 😀

Wow, you really detailed several important uses of coconut. Your contribution is much appreciated.
I must concur that you are truly a bit of a (coco) nut!

Well it is a fantastic health food.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://globalfoodbook.com/the-benefits-of-coconut-water

Interesting article. My dad used to drink coconut water, when I was a kid. I thought he was a nut case, but not any more. Even without the internet, he got information from everywhere.

Thanks for your kind words. Your dad has been doing the right thing, so kudos to him. It is now left for you to follow suit.

We use coconut oil every day. As for coconut water: just bought 48 cans from Thailand at our local supermarket a couple of days ago. Chilled with a little stevia...it's great.

But it's best right off the tree. Still, I'm happy when it periodically appears as a special offer here at our local store.

Glad to know you use coconut oil on a daily basis. Coconut oil is a healthy substitute for other cooking oil.
48 cans? Dude, that must be loads of coconut water for you to enjoy.
I'll try the stevia option and see how it tastes.
Cheers

One of the things I realized when I went on a low carb diet is that I was getting a lot less potassium in my diet without the potatoes. Guess what I found to replace it? Coconut water. It's loaded with potassium, so I have at least 12 ounces a day.

Wow! What a great replacement!
Coconut water is indeed a life-changer. Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. Cheers

I drink coconut water everyday. I have for many years.

up voted and following you.

Do you know someone that has done a random act of kindness? Cast your vote @healthiswealth to nominate a daily Steemian-of-the-Day

Yup.. Coconut water is good for health..

I have few friends that will drink coconut water every day and swear by it, as for me I've never tried it! But after reading this think it's time to give it a go :-)

This post is like a wake-up call 😄 😄 😄
So it is high time you started giving it a go.
Cheers

I drink it every day !!!!!!! But I do live on a tropical beach so they are everywhere! Follow me for awesome shots from the rainforest. Good luck