Steemfest Day 2 - MS Strikes!

in #health6 years ago (edited)


The second day of Steemfest3 began with an Uber ride to the ICE Krakow Conference Center. My agenda for the day was to catch up with some presentations, host a roundtable discussion, take part in other discussions and to be part of a panel to discuss the ramifications of tokenizing the web.


Held on the third floor of this magnificent building, tables were laden with food of all types and drink - both hot and cold - were available for thirsty Steemians who gathered around tables to discuss Steem, projects, and the whole ecosystem.


@Rhondak and I joined an interesting roundtable discussion held by @blocktrades. Also in attendance were @teamsteem, @therealwolf, @alexvan, and a few others I hadn't yet had the chance to meet.


Once this was over I made my way out of the hall to feed my hunger, and I bumped into @ura-soul. We were in a deep discussion when @starkerz joined us and we explored how @thewritersblock and @oracle-d could work together.


Source

Not long after this ended, it struck. Not as a slow-moving wave but like a bolt from the sky or a head explosion. Suddenly I was dizzy, feeling sick, my legs no longer agreeing with each other as to which way to take me. They gave up arguing and decided not to work at all.

I had to sit down, and quickly before I fell. Luckily I managed to drag myself over to a free spot, swaying like a drunkard. Flopping onto the seat, I started to shake. Seeing my sudden change, @rhondak rushed over to ask what she could do to help. I had a panel to attend with @Fredrikaa within thirty minutes. I wasn't going to be able to make it, so I asked Rhonda to convey my apologies.

Seeing the state I was in, the lovely @roxane came over to ask what was up. She fetched me a glass of water and sat with me until Rhonda returned. We both agreed the best thing for me to do was to return to the hotel to lie down and recuperate. We caught an elevator down to the ground floor and made our way outside to summon an Uber. The world was pitching and twisting in my head and, as I sat down, I began to shake even more uncontrollably.

Multiple Sclerosis affects your nervous system throughout, and not just with physical symptoms. All of a sudden overwhelming emotions bubbled to the surface and I found myself crying like a fool. Pulling my cap over my face to avoid embarrassment, I felt things getting worse. Would we have to cancel the Uber and call an ambulance instead? I didn't relish the idea of spending the rest of Steemfest in a Polish hospital.

Our car arrived quickly, despite it being rush hour in Krakow. I barely remember the trip back to the hotel, nor the elevator ride up to the fourth floor. I took some medication and flopped down onto the bed. Thankfully by now, the shaking had subsided to mild tremors. As my head hit the pillow I slipped off to sleep quickly, sorry that I had made Rhonda and I miss the rest of day two of Steemfest.

It has been several years since I had an episode like this. It scared the life out of me, not because I didn't know it would pass, but because I was over a thousand miles from home and away from everything I know. Thankfully Rhonda was with me and @roxane came over to help. Word must have gotten around because the next day many people came over to check that I was ok once more.

I'd like to thank @rhondak and @roxane for their help and everyone else who showed their concern the following day.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.muxxy.co.uk/2018/11/09/steemfest-day-2-ms-strikes/

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your MS. I know it can be a biatch of a disease. But you seem to manage it well with a lot of courage. Thanks for sharing @gmuxx

Thank you. Most of the time it just lurks in the background. But when it strikes, it is indeed a biatch.

Awww so you could not make it to the performance because you felt bad...? I had no idea... we have to meet again then. It was lovely to have you at least at the closing dinner in front of us and get a fair deal of hugs.

I felt so rotten that I had to miss your performance, but the hugs did make up for it somewhat.

I'm pretty sure there will be a video at some point, and as soon as I can get my voice back I can always to a little live video for you, dlive is no more but I have yet to try vimmtv

I'll keep an eye out for it.

I am so sorry you had another flare-up of the MS, especially so far from home. Thank goodness for your guardian angels @rhondak 💚 and @roxane 💙 I'm praying that doctors make strides in finding a cure for this. Hope you get lots of rest and are feeling back to your old self soon!

Thank you very much.

Posted using Partiko Android

We'll all keep our head up moving forward, great pics, great and best of luck to you. We'll bust out of this crypto shit funk soon !

Keep the faith 🤟

So scary, and when you don't feel well, it's hard to be away from home. I'm sorry I wasn't even there to help. I am grateful I got to meet you, however, and spend a little bit of time together. Much love and I hope you're feeling better and getting some good rest at home with your family.

It was scary, but all good now.

I'm so glad to have met you and been able to give you a long promised hug.

I seem to have done little but sleep since getting home lol.

Sorry to hear Muxx. Glad you'r felling better.

Congratulations @gmuxx! You received a personal award!

Thank you for your participation in the "Meet The Steemians" contest in Kraków. We hope you enjoyed it and made lots of new friends. See you at SteemFest4!

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!