Stories from Sparrow House- Chapter 4- Coffee and a croissant

in #health6 years ago

Strange friendships are formed in hospital wards, and people that normally will not meet and socialize under normal circumstances will share deep and intense experiences in hospitals.

They came into the ward on Sunday morning at 3am. A father, a mother with a baby and their 3 year old son. They were tired from being at the emergency room from early evening and wide eyed with worry. Their little boy was extremely ill.

The other moms and I tried to support and assist as best we could and in the end the dad stayed with the boy and the mom went to sleep with the baby in the car. During the run of the day after many tests the little boy was transferred to the high care unit. I spoke to the young parents often, finding out a little more about their life and family.

At the hospital there is a facility where parents can sleep over, have a shower and a meal, and just take a break. I encouraged them to make use of that because she was breastfeeding an infant and sleeping in the car is very uncomfortable.

The next morning, after a very difficult night with Lee, I walked down to the coffee shop and bought a cappuccino, a sandwich and a heavenly chocolate croissant. I was feeling a bit guilty for paying R70 ( Around $6.00 ) for coffee and cake, but, I thought, I deserve this treat.

I met the young couple in the hallway, looking disheveled and tired. I asked about the condition of their little boy and after getting an update on his health, I asked how they were finding the accommodation in the hospital.

They looked at me uncomfortably, and then the young man said: “We can’t afford to pay R35($3.00) a night. We will take turns to sleep in the car.”

The coffee tasted bitter in my mouth and the croissant, overly sweet.

Thanks for reading
Gretha


Stories from Sparrow House is a collection of my thoughts and experiences as I go though the journey of being a Foster Mother, Safety Parent and Temporary Caregiver to 3 special needs babies one of which has VACTERYL Association. My hope is to raise awareness around VACTERYL Association by sharing our journey, as well as offer support to other foster and safety parents or parents with children who have this syndrome.

If you would like to know more have a look at our Facebook page Sparrow House - a second home for babies

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this Gretha, makes you think. We may all be going through difficult and trying times, but there may be someone else more in need.

Hi there, every time I am at Red Cross Children's Hospital I see moms and their babies and I admire the women for their courage and commitment to their very sick children.

Nothing like a mother’s love, I’m sure it knows no end. What you are doing is completely selfless and amazing, I pray god gives you the strength to continue doing what you are doing.

Hi @grethaventer, found your post via @simplylizelle.
Wishing you well with the fostering, not an easy task as I know exactly what you mean about having the disfunctional parents in the background as we fostered 2 children years ago, a long long story.
Can I suggest you try using the tag familyprotection and take a peek at @canadian-coconut's posts, sure you will find it interesting.
Take care :)

Thanks for your encouragement Lizelle.

You got a 1.85% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @grethaventer!