Danger of Diabetes #1: Research and Suspect

in #health5 years ago

My uncle lost his life from an infected toe. His wife accidentally cut a bit of his flesh during toenail clipping. The little cut of flesh became red and swollen. White pus started to be visible. From there, the doctor removed his toe... The infection didn't heal. He became quite blind and he only recognized people by their voices and laughs.

Followed by removal of foot... Followed by removal of leg below knee... He was losing so much blood and his body surrendered. Soon, he couldn't survive from this misery and he left the world. That's the danger of uncontrolled Diabetes.

Image Source

There are two types of Diabetes.

In this case, I think I'm Type 2. My mom has it, I'm middle aged and I'm overweight...

Image Source

I do suspect I have Diabetes.

Will you suspect yourself having diabetes too?

I didn't really fancy sweet drinks. But I do fancy rice and noodles, I love bread and I dine with cookies and cakes. They don't spell "SUGAR" but they contained a lot of it. Not direct sugar, they are the carbohydrates that will convert into sugar in our body. I am not using any difficult terms here, I just wanna share about my experience of finding out that I have Diabetes.

Not so sugary, is it?

Screenshot from my own Facebook feed.

Sugar problem...? Yes, I think all of us have sugar problem. My students loved can drinks. They're even cheap here... Ranging from RM1.00 to RM2.50 only (less than USD1.00).

The craze of having bubble milk tea... Pearl milk tea or Boba milk tea... Sugar 54gm!!??

Images and values from Google.com

Me and bubble milk tea? Once or twice a week (in 2018)...

Symptoms of Diabetes on myself:

  1. It won't happen everyday but once in a few months - ants consuming the urine in the toilet - even after flushing. My friend told me that it was a serious matter when that happened.

  2. Feeling of sleepiness all the time. Yawning at odd timings. Even after coffee. It was quite dangerous because I drive frequently and in long distances.

  3. Body pain attacks - I felt a sharp pointy thing that attacked me in my body, once in a while. I jumped in shock. I felt it on my waist... Sometimes leg... Sometimes my back...

  4. Dropping massive amount of hair. In one year's time, I could feel my hair thinning and I am not proud of it. All remedies, like changing shampoo, ginger shampoo, hair tonic application and massage, they didn't work. I just lost more hair... But I didn't know it was related to diabetes.

Below are the legit symptoms of Diabetes for women and men:-

Images Source above and below

Finally, a test...

My buddy, also a Piano teacher, she brought the blood sugar test machine. She used it to poke my finger (hurt a bit only) and took a drop of my blood with a test strip. It was 20.

Sourced from google: normal blood sugar level

My friend was shocked and she told me to go see a proper doctor. Since then I stopped having instant coffee, i only had coffee with creamer.

I stopped eating rice and bread at night. I started to skip ice creams and sodas. After two weeks, I went to check blood sugar again and this time, I went to a proper clinic. Good news, it went down to 15.3 and my body weight lost 2kg.

That's great!!! Nevertheless, the nurse advised me to proceed to a proper blood test. The nurse was so expert in withdrawing my blood. She rubbed some alcohol onto my arm, a block of clinical ice and she took out the syringe.

Just a little pain when she jabbed, like getting a dot of tattoo. But the syringe took about 10ml of my dark blood. She also asked me to take a pee and put into a flask.

I haven't got my results. I will update about it here, just drop me a comment. I will tag you in the next post of Danger of Diabetes.

Now, I'm in the journey of lowering my blood sugar level...

Knowing more:

Coke has about 30gm of sugar = BAD
100PLUS has about 16gm
Choose? = Water.

Rice, noodles, bread = BAD
Choose = None.

Always try to check the Sugar Level in the label of Nutritional Value.

Below is the recommended portion of balanced diet for a diabetic person:-

Image Source

Well, I'm glad I found out. I'm so glad that the internet provided so much information and I'm glad to have this chance to share with you.

Thank you for reading my content, I hope this will keep you in check of your health. Stay tuned for my results. _Gulp!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @harmonyval! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!