Everyone is Lactose-Intolerant

in #health7 years ago (edited)

The basis for my theory revolves around my brother who, as a life-long dairy consumer, made the decision to quit eating everything milk-based about 6 months ago. He claims it improved his energy levels, skin health, and digestion; which is great.

The interesting part, is that it seems he induced lactose-intolerance during his abstinence. Eating cheeses, creamy dressings, milk, or anything of the sort will cause him strong stomach discomfort.

My theory, which is shared with me by many others, is that humans were not meant to drink growth-promoting breast milk made for baby cows.. It could be that traditional lactose tolerance in humans begins developing early enough in life, that average people must acclimate to dairy.

Sort:  

I blame big milk for making me think drinking milk for other animals isn't gross

We drink milk from our mothers to grow. It has growth hormones. So if we are drinking cows milk, we are getting the growth hormones to grow into a 600+ pound cow. I think dairy is one of the leading causes of obesity.

I ended up avoiding dairy for a bit sure to finances at the time and then spending a year in Iraq where I wouldn't trust the dairy. After a decent time avoiding dairy when I ate a bowl of cereal with milk and thwn developed some serious gas. My interactions with dairy consistently involves gas or a knot in the stomach for a bit.

Once I stopped I couldn't go back full force. Small amounts is fine, but I avoid bowls of cereal now.