This 75-Year-Old Has Run Every Single Walt Disney World Marathon

in #health6 years ago


I often think about how active I will be able to be when I get older and this 75-year-old man has given me some major goals to strive for. Not only does he make a yearly trip to the happiest place on Earth, but he has completed every single Walt Disney World Marathon…ever.

Seriously, he deserves a standing ovation.

Rudy Smith, the Louisiana-based grandfather of two, started running in 1980, and in the 37 years since, has completed 55 marathons, multiple IRONMAN triathlons and dozens of 10Ks and 5Ks, Runner’s World reported.

His passion has taken him all over the world to run in places like China, Greece and Paris, but we’re pretty interested in what he’s been doing every year since 1994 in Orlando, Florida.

Smith was at Magic Kingdom back in 1994, where he ran the very first Walt Disney World Marathon and hasn’t stopped since. (If you’re counting, that’s 25 of them!)

What keeps him coming back? “The scenery, setting and course of Walt Disney World just blow you away,” Smith said. “You see the decorations and the characters and it takes your mind off the race. That’s what keeps me coming back.”

January 3rd marked his most recent 26.2-mile journey and we can’t wait until his next. Maybe we’ll join him!

Sort:  

Greetings friend you have my vote I hope yours, thanks

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://classpass.com/blog/2018/01/08/news-75-year-old-walt-disney-world-marathon/