You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Sleep] Sleeping surface/systems, and why your western bed is not that good for you, and how did our ancestors used to sleep?

in #health7 years ago

Ha, very thoughtful blog on sleeping. Definitely an important function of the body since that's when it heals and recycles itself. If that cycle is interrupted too frequently.. problems ensue for sure!

I must admit, I'm guilty of sleeping on a big squish mattress and I'm starting to feel the effects. Ladies love it tho so it's gona be hard to give up ;) hahaha

Sort:  

@jaybird
Again, thank you :). I did put in a lot of effort into this one :D.
Research I do on a regular basis and then (for some reason) it also took me ages to write it all down :D. Maybe I should switch to videos ... Or audio ...

Haha, I understand :). Though so far no one complained about my Japanese mattress. To me, it is very soft (though it probably isn't) but it's not the ground and looks like a mattress so people are not that fussed about it. And then they tend to sleep like babies on it :).

However, I challenge you for a Sleeping Stoic challenge :).

Haha, I can see how it's comfortable. I actually did sleep pretty well on one when I visited japan for 3 weeks. My bud had one and also that's what they tended to have at any capsule hostel .

A hostel with Futons? I think I'm gonna give hostels a go and not just sleep outside or Couch Surf :D. (Assuming I could afford it).

Well Capsule style hostels... They just have those thin Japanese style mattresses. well most of em anyway. I'm certain u can find other arrangements.