Easy Kale and Kiwi Smoothie Bowl - Breakfast Recipe

in #health6 years ago (edited)

There's nothing I love more for breakfast than a nourishing smoothie bowl. It only takes 10 minutes to prepare and your body will be full of fruit, vegetables and superfoods to energise you for the day ahead. I've used some of my favourite ingredients in this recipe but you can just swap in your preferred fruit and vegetables. Get yourself a decent blender beforehand - I use a Ninja one. This brekkie I made for @yasminep who's come to visit me today :)

Ingredients (for 2 small bowls or 1 big bowl):

  • handful of kale
  • 2 kiwis
  • handful of mixed berries (I usually use a frozen mix)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp spirulina
  • 1 tsp flaxseed
  • 1 tsp maca powder
  • 200ml of coconut milk 

For the topping:

  • 1 tsp cacao nibs
  • 1 tsp linseed
  • handful of fresh blueberries, strawberries and grapes
  • 1 tsp sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp pumpkin seeds 
  • 1 tsp desiccated coconut

Method:

  1. Put all your ingredients into your blender 
  2. Blend up for 30 seconds or until all ingredients are liquified
  3. Pour into your bowl, add your chosen toppings and enjoy!

 

Other ingredients I often add to the mix:

  • handful of spinach
  • 1 oranges
  • half a pepper
  • 1 celery
  • half a cucumber
  • handful of almonds
  • handful of cashews
  • handful of dried prunes
  • 1 tsp of almond butter

If you do fancy buying a few additional superfoods, then you can get most of them on Amazon or in most health food shops.

Happy Friday!

Jo

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T10:59:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Absolutely glorious @joham! Loved this morning smoothie bowl.

Thanks @yasminep - lunch in store for you now! God, I do treat you ;)

this Smoothie I make in the weekend

Amazing - let me know how you find it and if you add any additional ingredients!

A great recipe! 😊

Thanks so much @monika-homa - your vegan recipes look delicious, I'll be sure to follow you :)

Yumm thanks for the recipe! I just received a brand new Vitamix, so I'm saving this to try it out tomorrow morning ;)

Oh perfect, enjoy and let me know what you think of it!

I need to try that! Looks super tasty!

Yes, please do and let me know how you find it :)

Most definitely! Once I acquire all the ingredients, I shall!