You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Are Not Alone - Fitting in with the Misfits - My Story and The Story of Hypersensitivosaurus

in #health4 years ago

I can certainly relate to a lot of what you've said in this post @vincentnijman.

I've always had similar feelings, but it wasn't until 2010 when I accidentally found Cambodia while trying to flee poverty and a life of underpaid manual labor in the USA.

Even though most of my life in Cambodia was spent alone, I never felt "lonely" there. There is something about the Cambodian people, they are just too warm, too curious, and you always become nearly best friends with the people living all around you.

I still to this day have never met such warm and open people. Even here in the Caribbean, @Sreypov wonders why everybody is so uptight.

The Caribbean is famous for chill vibes, but not according to Cambodians. Cambodians know to conversate and engage in the moment, and that goes a long way in making one feel not lonely in a community.

Much love to you from us in Paramaribo.

Sort:  

Hi Justin.

Forgot to reply to this.

Even though most of my life in Cambodia was spent alone, I never felt "lonely" there. There is something about the Cambodian people, they are just too warm, too curious, and you always become nearly best friends with the people living all around you.

Love to read this. Some people say this about the Portuguese but I find it hard to really connect, make it past the small talk. Especially with those who just speak Portuguese and are way older than me. They are friendly, but I won't call them friends.

Cambodians know to conversate and engage in the moment, and that goes a long way in making one feel not lonely in a community.

This sounds amazing.

I guess I should try to visit Cambodia one day...

For now I'll try to make myself at home in Portugal, first though.

Many good vibes your way. I know you need them more than ever. If you need any help, you know where to find me...