Living with a Demon | Unbreakable SPIRIT!

in #health6 years ago

Everyone has their own demons, as do i, my demon has a name, its called Osteogenesis imperfecta.



 Hello everyone, first of all if anyone meets me anytime in life i am actually a very happy and positive person, i never talk about what i went through and i never want anyone to pity me, I'm a strong and very enduring person. But something in my life shaped me that way..It was my disease OI (Osteogenesis Imperfecta) or from now on known my Demon.It's a quite rare disease that affects your bones, making them breakable, quite fragile, to be honest. I have quite a mild type of it, but I still had ~40 broken bones in my life, and I'm only 20 years old! That's about 2 broken bones a year.


So lets see what it actually is:"Osteogenesis imperfecta (OI), also known as brittle bone disease, is a group of genetic disorders that mainly affect the bones. It results in bones that break easily." - Wikipedia.Its not hard to explain, but its hard to see someone living with that disease, so i'll explain it how I experienced it!


I was born on 14.10.97, everything was fine i was the third child born, both my older brothers are healthy and have no health issues (blessed!). I however was always a happy child, until i hit the age of 2. I tripped over my front and tried to catch myself with my arms, but in effort of doing that i broke my arm. My mom did not mind much of it, so we went to the doctor, but a couple of days later i fell backward on my butt and i broke my leg, my mom started getting worried and she knew something is wrong. She asked the local doctor whats wrong, and i'll never forget the words that the doctor said, he was wrong, oh so so wrong. He said: "He is born under a unlucky star.". Now if you would known my mom i could explain the expression she got, she turns into a "Mama Bear" we call it. She losses it if someone touches a hair on her children, she is super protective (Thanks mom!). So we rushed to the best hospital in Slovenia, in the Capital Ljubljana. The doctor there looked me into the eyes and said: "He's got OI." She knew because patients with OI have blue sclerae (here). At the time we couldn't imagine what is coming next. Since we were a bit under-develop country we had no medicine to fight OI, we had practically NO IDEA what it means. So it was quite a shock, you can imagine. 

So that's how we found out, since then we had quite a trip. My dad and my mom were both seriously supportive, mom a bit more emotionally dad was always there financially, he is a very good entrepreneur, specialized in Food and Catering, has his own bars, restaurants, etc.

So i'm 20 y. o. now and expecting a kid (quite young i know, hold your comments!) and I'm focused, ever-learning, fighting my way through the world. I also have 3 brothers and a little sister who just reached 5. All healthy no one has OI. And if i've been unlucky my entire life, atleast some luck hit me now, best news of my life:

Wife: "My husband got IO, can you see if the child is affected in any way?"

Doctor: "My son got it as well, I know how to check if he is sick or not!"

Doctor: "Your son is completely healthy!"

MELTS MY HEART EVERY TIME I REMEMBER IT

For the end, my favourite 2 quotes:

"Treat life with respect, and it shall treat you back."

"If you want something you've never had, then you've gotta do something you've never done!"


Thanks for reading through everyone!If you have any questions whatsoever, and you want to ask me, you can add me on Facebook.


Heart of a Lion!

Cheers! 

Sort:  

Congratulations @krasovec97! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @krasovec97! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!