My Search for Health: Why I drink Activated Charcoal Everyday

in #health7 years ago

So I thought I would share a little more about myself by sharing some of the things that I do as part of my daily routine.
And with that, the reasons why I do them and why they have shown up in my life now.

As part of my journey into getting fitter and healthier I have tried out a few different things over the years.

Some of them have worked, some of them haven't.

What I have realised from my own journey is that what works for one person may not work for another. We are all different and require different things, so we need to take an individual approach to our wellness.

A few months ago I started drinking activated charcoal in filtered water with high quality sea salt as part of my morning routine.
e1cd53c2-42bf-4ee3-88fd-1e97f0097583_1.dc1a59b8d62f3d07d61e62607922f3ff.jpeg

I started this after attending a David Wolfe event here in Perth. For those that don't know who he is (but I'm sure most of you do), David "Avocado" Wolfe is a heavy hitter in the raw food, superfood and longevity space revealing expert advice on all things health, beauty, herbalism, nutrition, and chocolate.
https://www.davidwolfe.com

He is extremely controversial to many, but to me made a whole lot of sense.

download.jpeg
australianationalreview.com

He spoke of many things and one of them was activated charcoal.

Consuming charcoal is not something that is new to me. I have administered it many times in my emergency nursing role over the years for one of it's most well known uses, to remove toxins and chemicals in the event of ingestion.

However, there are so many more reasons to use it to boost wellness.

So why do I take it everyday?

Well my personal reason for taking it is because it cleanses my digestive system.
Activated charcoal has been shown to reduce the absorption of toxins in the body by up to 60%.
It removes toxins that may cause issues such as poor immune system function, oxidative damage or allergic reactions.

It works through the process of adsorption.
Adsorption refers to the collecting of molecules by the external surface or internal surface (walls of capillaries or crevices) of solids or by the surface of liquids.
https://www.britannica.com/science/adsorption

Since I have been taking it, I feel lighter, less bloated, more energised and more mentally alert.

What are it's side affects for long term usage?

Charcoal is the most natural, simplest, negatively charged, non toxic substance you will find.

Because charcoal is neither digested nor absorbed in the gastro-intestinal tract, there is therefore no concern of overdosing on activated charcoal.
For those who are prone to constipation, taking activated charcoal can have a binding affect if not enough water is drunk throughout the day. For others, charcoal may work as a laxative.
http://www.charcoalremedies.com/faq
It may however interfere with the absorption of some medications .... so be sure to check this out if this may be an issue for you

There are many other uses for activated charcoal too. I have listed some below for those of you who may be interested

  1. It can help to treat insect bites and rashes
  2. It can help cleanse pores and treat pimples
  3. It removes toxins from the body
  4. It helps alleviate gas
  5. It whitens teeth
  6. It helps to lower cholesterol
  7. It helps to relieve hangovers
  8. It has anti-ageing effets
  9. It is great for skin and body health
  10. Water Filtration
  11. Mould Cleansingvariant_460164.jpg

Anyway, if any of you are looking to start on your own activated charcoal journey, I highly recommend it. You will feel amazing.

Peace, Love and Charcoal

Kylie

https://www.davidwolfe.com/7-uses-activated-charcoal/
https://draxe.com/activated-charcoal-uses/

Sort:  

Congratulations @kyliewhyte! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really interesting! Will give this a try as well!!

why activated?

Good point @imrob. Activated charcoal has oxygen added to it to make it more porous increasing its surface area. Due to the increase in surface area it can therefore filter out more than regular charcoal

I've read of the benefits of charcoal before but never tried it. Might have to give it a go now!

It brings energy and clarity @katem. Would love to hear how you feel after you try it

I just bought some activated charcoal recently, since I have been having some bloating issues. Maybe this is my clue to start using it internally. I already use it for teeth whitening (used it two times so far).

Yes @celsius100 just try it out. 1 teaspoon of activated charcoal in a litre of water with a pinch of sea salt. I take mine in the morning and wait an hour or so before eating, but you could take it before bed if you prefer. Would love to hear how you feel once you start taking it