what is IBS: Irritable Bowel Syndrome

in #health7 years ago (edited)

IBS or Irritable Bowel Syndrome is a dilapidating disease that causes intestinal cramping, bloating, abdominal pain, gas, constipation and the big D. Its a real pain in the Arse and stomach that causes people to have anxiety issues and stress related issues. 1 in 5 people have it.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5467063/

It can also cause people to become irritable and have low self esteem. This causes family members to not understand what the person who has this disease is going through on a daily, weekly, monthly and yearly basis. They always ask why cant you be like everyone else normal. I always say well cause you didnt make me normal, so therefore I have to learn my lessons of life in order to not have this pain.

There are ways to over come this pain. One must figure out his or her food triggers and then stick to a regular diet. Please note that triggers may change due to stress and living situations. But try and stick with what works for you. Thus one should try and create a lifestyle that suits them for treating IBS. I.E. work from home if possible or work in a less stressed office life.

For me Pasta, breads and whole foods work well along with raw foods such as Sushi, muscles, oysters, clams shrimp oddly enough any bottom feeding animal. I think its because thats where they pick up most of the nutrients that my stomach needs. Its not Kosher by a long shot. But it does work.

Women tend to get IBS more often then Men. most of the cause is hormone stresses. Please watch for the symptoms and get tested right away. Testing is done at the hospital with an endoscope. The cleansing process is horrible but well worth it for piece of mind.

There maybe a correlation with other illnesses and antibiotics that were given that may cause IBS. Please ask your Doctor if this could be the case for you.

I hope this helps out anyone suffering from this horrible illness.

Sort:  

IBS is a pain in the....

I really do not think the public realize how common this is.
However, I also do not think people know how easy it is to get relief from this disease.
I shared my experience after reading your article. Thank you for inspiring me. I upvoted your article.

If you have time, please read my experience and how I recovered.

Thanks for posting. IBS symptoms and treatment of said symptoms really depends on the person. I read that certain vitamins helped with IBS symptoms and have tried them for over a year. They did nothing for me. Finally tried the low fodmap diet and so far its working wonders. But I have to stick with it. With me I get it from my grandmother and on my paternal side. So I am guessing its DNA related to some degree. Of course stress factors doesnt help. Im trying to work on that issue also. So time will tell. The pain factor can change from person to person also. Treatment is not as Carte Blanche as it appears. So readers be warned. Aligne has also worked.