Sort:  

Okay, I've done a fair number of reps in my time, but nothing approaching 108 in a row. Respect.

What I love the most is the clarity that follows, which I've never found with any practice other than yoga, though the health benefits may be there.

But I find that too many American practitioners seem to want to make any physical practice into a competition, and I'm all about the moving meditation, so I simply don't play that game.

That's what turned me off of the Tai Chi class I took, not to mention that it screwed up my knees, and is why I've never had even a passing interest in power yoga or most Pilates classes.

I listen to my body and attempt to use its signals as my guide. I neither want nor need a drill sergeant.

I do not believe in Power Yoga and lot of other props based stunts in the name of Yoga. The Traditional yoga has a very clear rule, slow and steady pace asanas.

My take as well. I had a GREAT yoga instructor in Florida named Emily LaFountain, who was adamant about pacing it slowly, and not pushing yourself to the point of pain.

I haven't found a class I like yet in Tennessee, so at this point I'm back to doing it on my own, which I am determined to make a far more regular part of my schedule.