My Health Chronicles: Eating Healthy within Budget – Mini Overnight Oats #1

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians, I have recently met a new friend in Steemit, @rin , and I did mention that if I have my old health chronical archives I will be sharing with her.

While I am still digging for my past archives in my backup drive, I have decided to share with her and the rest of those who want to eat healthily with my most recent recipe for overnight oats.

Before I continue, let me clarify that I am not a health freak, but I do try to keep a healthy range of food intake and exercise to learn and increase my metabolic rate up at the same time to keep any trace of tumor markers at bay after I had some health complications back in 2014; but that is for another story and testimony to tell (one day).

Let’s get back to my new experimental recipe.


I used to love making full overnight oats last year during my watchful diet and exercise routines, but I also realized that not everyone is fond of taking it in large portion; moreover the price is could be a little high for some who does not like to have just for breakfast. So I have re-designed my meals to fit my most recent 8 hours, 16 hours diet routine for frequent smaller meals.

I just started it and have realized that it suits me better because I will not feel bloated / bored with the food and I could have more snack variance throughout the day as well; keeping my tiny meals colourful and interesting, as well as keeping it within budget.


So I came up with a great plan when I saw these SUPER CUTE jars that I found from IKEA a month ago.


Please click on the image to go to the Malaysian site. Courtesy from IKEA Malaysia.

And instead of using it for its design purpose, I have decided to “tweak” it for my use.
So this is what I came up with.


The size is not huge, about 150ml capacity, this serves perfectly for small eaters.

And these containers served perfectly for its purpose; of course, if you currently have your own container you can use whatever you need. But as I am learning to be more environment friendly to this beautiful planet I am in, I try my best to adapt to more easy to handle glass containers.

Back to the recipe!

So this is what I have for my Mini Overnight Oat

  • 1 teaspoon of chia seeds (the baking spoon range)
  • 2 table spoon of rolled oats. (I used this because it has higher fibre)
  • Soy milk (preferred reduced sugar / sugarless – for those who is going sugar-free)
  • 2 table spoon of natural yogurt (I used Nestlé natural yogurt, because my housemate got me this)
  • 2/3 – 1 table spoon of goji berries. (please use others if you are taking diabetic medication)
  • 2/3 – 1 table spoon of red raisins. (If you do not want any sugar, always look at the ingredients chart)

Because goji berries and raisins naturally have sweetness, it lessens the sourness of the natural yogurt and helps balance the bland taste of roll oats. If you are using less sweetened soy milk you should be able to enhance this recipe’s taste as well.

The great part of this recipe because it IS called “overnight oats”, you can prepare it at least 8 hours prior and store it in a fridge; and chia seeds works perfectly well soaking up with the rolled oats and its nutrient is well preserved.

Usually this recipe can last for 3 – 5 days; so preparing it in a sealed jar like this one in the fridge will help keep this tiny refreshing meal longer. But I prefer to use it off within 3 days so that whatever I consume it is as freshly made as possible.

All my ingredients are of organic quality. In Malaysia it is a little pricey for organic produce, but I can confidently say it cost only approximately MYR 2 per jar (or maybe less, depending on what product you use) if you do not over pack your ingredients.

I hope you find my little cost effective wholesome kick-start meal to help your body absorb the best nutrients at the start of the day.

For calorie wise, I didn’t really count it, according to the raisins I have, 1 tablespoon is approximately 14.18g; and 1 serving (50g) is 156 kcal / 656 kj. So it will round up only about 44 kcal / 186 kj.

I hope you enjoyed this health sharing as much as I have enjoyed preparing it.

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

Great recipe and I love how you're covering health on a budget in this series. As most of us know, when you try to eat healthy it can often take a toll on your budget, and it's so necessary to find healthy products at good prices. But as you've shown here, the amount that you eat has a huge impact too. I mean 2000 calories per day is the average daily recommended intake. And when I actually broke it all down and counted up my calories for a day, I found that that's not really a whole lot. But that's how much food the body needs on average for energy in a day. So just by reducing my daily meals to 2000 calories a day I actually saw a huge reduction in budget in a lot of instances.

I really enjoyed reading about your health routine here. I'm also a big fan of overnight oats, and tend to use mason jars to avoid BPA in plastics. I posted a cinnamon chia overnight oats recipe a few weeks back :) Looking forward to seeing more of your health chronicles. Cheers! :)

I am really glad that we are both thriving to provide healthy food within budget. Actually you are totally right, there are a lot of things we do not consume that much but still have a great impact on good health as well.
I will look at your cinnamon chia later, but I am not really a huge fan of cinammon. I only have them when I am coughing haha.... I used to use mason jars (recycled from chia seed bottles) but the portion was a little too huge for me; but I might opt it a different way so that it will be less bloated for those who think they need more than 150 ml container. :D
This portion I have made is also perfect for those who are travelling and does not have enough time for lunch, and if we pack it in an insulated bag right out of the fridge it will last at least half a day (I have experimented).
It is so wonderful to meet you!
Let's keep in touch and see what else we can share for this community here!

That's great! It's wonderful to meet you too @littlenewthings :)

Welcome to Whalepower Tag Usage.
Please Read the Guidelines First - click here , if you haven't please do so.

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblog Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Hi
This looks Delicious.
I will try your recipe!
Thanks for charing 💚

glad you like it @erdberrly ! This recipe is for approximately 150ml container. So it is quite a small portion but great for kickstarting the body after a night's rest!
would you like to know of my other combinations? I can keep you posted.

I LOOOVE overnight oats (with peanut butter on top of it), but I totally agree on the bloated part- what a nice idea you had to make this combination!
The main problem I have with oats is that I feel bloated just after eating breakfast, and then hungry before next meal time...

peanut butter on overnight oats? That is an unusual combination.
And on the bloated part that is why I have decided to keep it small and the sealed jar I got was perfect for preserving the ingredients fresh inside for at most 3-4 days.
My friend has commented this small combination is also perfect for supper so it is a great idea for me as well.
When I have this portion I actually team up with fruits too so that I have other food combination intake. :)
Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting @resilience-log !

lovely post @littlenewthings

Thanks @bitrocker2020 ! I have a few friends who are actually wanting to loose weight and they have asked me for recipes; so I might as well share it over here too :)

Hi Sis. I will support you all the way with your project and rest assured that we will going to include this on daily group prayer. God bless us more!

thank you brother @rosher72 !
Do come and participate in my way to support and inspire our brothers and sisters to dig into the word of God as well!

Scripture Inspired Week Support #1: Let The Word of God Manifest Alive in You.

I hope this.can be a great way to get more people to stop and look around and get back into the word of God!
^_^

Once again thank you for your support and prayers! That means a lot to me and my parents.

Sure I will. Thanks for the invitation :)

How is the Consistency? does it come out like a muesli? or does it swell and set like a porridge?
Thanks!

hm. It is more like a thick porridge. Have you tried oatmeal before?
This is like the cold version of it, with yogurt. And the chia seed makes it even smoother. @reville

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 1.39 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @littlenewthings.

Awesome blog friend! You did it again!

thanks @deveerei ! I hope everyone will enjoy some of my tested recipes for a healthy budgeted breakfast :D
this is a surprising reward. I know @bitrocker2020 helped a lot too :D
thanks so much for stopping by!

You're welcome dear friend. Staying healthy, are we?

with all the MSG, i think we have to. LOL.
Besides, this recipe is perfect for lazy people too since I can make it and store in fridge.

I did try making similar recipes based on oats for the wife before.

cooked or uncooked @deveerei ?

Uncooked.

Goji fruit, yogurt, chia seeds and whole grains are rich in fiber and improve digestion. It's a healthy breakfast.

yes, it is awesome to kick start the body as the first meal of the day, espcially I am on the 8,16 eating habit program. After 16 hours of no food (just water and rest during the night) this becomes very welcoming to my stomach and bowel :)
Thanks so much for the great comment and your visit!

For a lazy, recently converted vegetarian, this looks awesome! Thanks, will definitely be trying this soon

Haha. Yes! This is actually perfect for lazy people (like me too). I will be posting other experiments for my overnight oats, would you like to know more? I can keep you posted.
Thank you so much for stopping by!

Sounds good, thanks

I LOVE overnight oats! And your idea to add the chia seeds and goji berries sounds so tasty. I have to try it. What a great way to throw more superfoods into breakfast. Followed you and upvoted. We should swap recipes. I love creating new things in the kitchen all the time. Like today I whipped up a healthier alternative to coffee that tastes way better than a Starbucks Green Tea Frappucino, made with green tea matcha powder. It's super great for your health because it's got tons of antioxidants. You can see the recipe here if you want to try making one yourself. It goes great with breakfasts! 😀

Thanks so much @joylovestowrite . Definitely will look at your recipe later! I would love to swap recipes with you. :D
And I totally love the chia seed when I noticed that there has been a lot of juices+chia seed hype happening in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. So it dawned on me. Why not giving that a try on my overnight oats?
And Voila! That is how it happens.
A personal note though: Goji berries are slightly sour so some people might not really like it, but because I was using natural yogurt (which is already sour) and mixed with red raisins, all tastes become less strong by itself, especially when the bland roll oats and tasteless chia seeds come into the mix. :)
I am not sure if you are using sweet soy milk / diary milk. It could turn out not as nice, which I am predicting; because the tastes might be clashing.
I am going to try something else tonight, so I will let everyone know how that comes out. :p
Thank you so much for stopping by and offering your recipes! Definitely going to check out soon!

looks delicious!

It was quite delicious @paran ! However some might not get used to uncooked dried goji berries, which is usually used for soup or brew with hot water as "goji tea".
Thank so much for stopping by! Do let me know the outcome if you are trying it out :p

This recipe is very rich in antioxidant and calcium for the bone

Yes it is. And goji berries are good for the eyes too. :)
Thanks so much for stopping by @mcmorgans !

Thank you for this one!
I love breakfast and healthy stuff/recipes and I will have to try this one out! I just wrote my own 'passion article' about a super healthy tea,Mate. Check it out if you want :)
https://steemit.com/health/@mylifeasgoda/knowing-mate-tea-maniacs-diary-1

I am glad that you like the post @mylifesagoda ! Sure I will check out in a bit when I am done with some work here :D
Thanks so much for stopping by!

Using glass jars is definitely nicer for the environment over the long run! And I think food lasts longer in glass jars, compared to plastic. Your overnight oats looks really good! Enjoy your easy, healthy, budget breakfast! :D

Glad you like it @haphazard-hstead . Yes, we used to use glass until the era of plastics came in.
I am going to experiment another recipe for this. Would you like me to keep you posted?

I like your posts
follow @the-mountain

@littlenewthings This is actually perfect for the month of Ramadhan. I know a friend who prepares this overnight for sahur. Thanks for sharing the recipe here. I think I should make for my family especially my kids breakfasts.

Glad to know that you find this recipe useful @francesaw ! Cold overnight oats for kids for breakfast might be a little challenging if their little tummies are not used to it, so do take out the jars and let it warmed up to a cool temperature before giving to them.
I too do the same. It is better for the gut.
Thank you so much for stopping by!

@littlenewthings I tried your recipe. I like it & my daughter likes it! I made it again last night but changed it a bit. I put in granola. And as I was about to eat, I topped with sliced bananas & snipped in 2 leaves of longevity spinach from my garden.

oh, replacing oats with granola? That sounds interesting!
I usually add fruits at the top too but that is usually a bigger portion so the mini jar can't really contain it haha.
So lovely to see this has kick started more creative recipes!