Homemade Vitamin C

in #health7 years ago

I like to keep my house as 'chemical' & 'nasty' free as possible, and that includes my food, too. I spend many hours in the kitchen recreating different snacks and foods, trying to make them as healthy as possible. Recently, I have began adding new recipes to my collection, and making my own medications and supplements.

My first was Vitamin C powder (and capsules). I am shocked at how easy it is, and how great they make me feel!

Method

  • Take the peel from any organic Lemons, Oranges or Limes you have. Finely chop the peel into thin strips and lay out on a tray or plate. Leave the peel to dry in a warm place for a few days or until crunchy.

  • Once the peel is dry, put it into a blender/grinder/mortar & pestle and process until it becomes a fine powder.

You can use this powder to add to juices and smoothies. Add 1 heaped teaspoon for an extra citrus boost, (and vitamin c hit, of course), or;

You can use a capsule maker to press into capsules (Size 00 capsules x 4)

As simple as that!!

images.duckduckgo.com.jpeg

Sort:  

Could you also bake the lemon peels till they are dry instead of leaving it to naturally dry out?

Sure can! A food dehydrator or a very low oven would be fine.

What temperature on a low oven works do you think? perhaps 100°C?

I wouod put it as low as it can go...no more than 100-105°C (225°F) and for around 6-8 hours. You can also leave the oven door ooen, just slightly, to let some heat escape.
I have heard that you can dehydrate in a microwave, but I haven't tried it, and I would be worried about the heat and the microwaves destroying the 'goodness' in the peel. :-)

Yes, I'm not a supporter of microwave ovens...They can alter the chemical composition of whatever you put in there.

I'll try the oven method. Thanks @mel.jai!