You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Sleep] Sleeping surface/systems, and why your western bed is not that good for you, and how did our ancestors used to sleep?

in #health7 years ago

I actually prefer sleeping on a futon than on a springy mattress. They're terrible. And agreed that lower back issues stem from a misalignment of the spine, which is all to common for many people today. Things like yoga and exercise that strengthen your core and alleviate tension in your muscles to straighten out your spine can really help with this. I was amazed at the transformation after I got into doing yoga and other exercises like this. I should try sleeping on the floor some time ;) Great article!

Sort:  

Thank you :).

Now when you say Futon, you mean the Japanese version, right? Yeah, those are amazing. Last time I had to sleep on a "normal" mattress my whole body was hurting. That's just crazy.

And yeah, moving and streghtening spine and the whole core and body is very important. Giving the body proper movement nutrition it needs
And yoga is a great foundation for spine health. So kudos to you for giving it a try.

Well if you already sleep on futons you'll probably find it pretty easy to adjust :). Just try sleeping on a yoga mat for few days.
I will be posting a challenge like that in the few hours challenging people to do just that :).

Yes that's right the Japanese version. Lol I know what you mean, normal mattresses are not for me. Oh wow, sounds like a great challenge, I look forward to hearing about it!

Oh I'm glad I'm not the only wierdo around :D.

Here's the post about the challenge.

Nothing fancy.

Minimalism and Stoicism Inspired Challenge

https://steemit.com/stoicism/@joewantsfreedom/become-unshakeable-minimalism-and-stoicism-inspired-challenges-to-cure-your-fear-of-discomfort-and-failure-practice-the-worst

Thanks! Checking it out :)