You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are green smoothies healthy?

in #health6 years ago

Glad you enjoyed my post Jeremy! Sorry it scared you - but iodine is one of my pet subjects, as I became iodine deficient a few years ago. I don't know if you're in the UK, but the UK is one of the few countries in the world that does not have a government policy of iodising salt. However iodine is added to livestock feed in the UK to improve their fertility - quite ironic really! So dairy products are among the few reliable sources of iodine in the UK. I have an intolerance to cow's milk, and I think that's how I became iodine deficient - I now take iodine supplements.
Certainly if you eat a lot of raw fruit and vegetables anyway you'll be getting enough vitamins and minerals that way - except possibly iodine, as it's distributed very erratically in the soil, so it all depends where the produce you eat comes from.

Sort:  

That's interesting. I'm from Malta (not UK). There are definitely a lot of minerals and vitamins in vegetables and fruit (and soil) - however, as you mentioned, it depends where the produce comes from. I will have to look up symptoms and signs of iodine deficiency - just to be extra cautious.

You might be OK in Malta. I live in Scotland, and a lot of our produce is subject to soil erosion due to excessive rainfall. I get a box of organic veg delivered every week – I think organic growing can improve the nutrient content, but I'm not sure about the iodine content.

Organic is always better overall, but yeah, doesn't mean it is sufficient in everything.