Prescription Abuse in Schools: Observations from a Student

in #health7 years ago

world-1185076_1280.png

Finals week is over today, and my Junior year of college has come to an end. Over the course of my last three years, I've observed the gradual increase of prescription abuse during finals week, as well as during the rest of the year.

Stimulants made as ADHD medication such as Adderall, Ritalin, and Vyvanse have become a popular haven for students who've left the majority of their work for the last minute before their finals. Finals week is always a period of intensity, as many students find themselves staying up until the early hours of the morning to make sure they know their materials up and down. From experience, the pressure can get really demoralizing, and many people turn to stimulants to relieve this pressure and keep them focused/motivated.

It could be an improvement in my observation skills, but I've noticed the number of people in the library using these substances has increased since my freshman year. Of course, there were always plenty of students using, but it seems like demand is at an all time high. Just about anyone you ask knows a source or contact to get a prescription stimulant like adderall for relatively cheap prices. I was born in 1996, and I know that this generation is one more comfortable with the use of prescription drugs, as they have become widely used and prescribed amongst people who grew up in the late 90's to early 2000's. ADHD drugs have especially been overused and over-prescribed due to the vague nature of ADHD's symptoms. These factors contribute to just how easy it is to legally or illegally obtain these stimulants.

It's important to note that I attend the University of Arizona, given my observations. In general, there are more students here open to abusing drugs, as well as more students struggling with their classes. However, the actual workload at the University of Arizona is much less strenuous than that of a more reputable university. I haven't attended an Ivy League university, but my prediction is that those students most likely don't abuse these stimulants at a higher rate. I feel as though the workload itself is not a contributor as much as the student base, and availability of the drugs.

If you are currently a student, whether in high school or college, I would love any observations you might have about this phenomenon. Any responses, opinions, or information relevant to this topic are much appreciated!!!!

Sort:  

I just got done with my four year degree two years ago. And I can teII you that everyone wants add piIIs around finaIs. Even peopIe you think wouIdn't. It has been marketed as something that is safe.

Synthetic Meth... They'll give you anything to make you more productive.

And the worst part is parents, teens and young adults have no reservation feeding themselves/children speed, even though their brains haven't fully developed. Sad that our culture has reached this point that sees drug abuse as simply a consequence of modern society. While the topic is unfortunate, thank you for your contribution.

It really is disgusting, things are getting like biblically bad in the world...