Suicide #3—My Overworked lover

in #health7 years ago

Momoka came in at 11 last night. It was Thursday and I had not seen her all day. It was basically the same the day before that, and the day before that and so on. In fact, we hardly see each other except on the weekends, but even then some weekends she has to go to work as a PR consultant at one of Japan’s largest firms. She is usually up at 6 in the morning and does some things around the house before she heads out to beat the Tokyo morning rush.

Anyone who has been to Tokyo during peak hours knows how much of a nightmare commuting is. It is so intense that they hire people to push commuters on the trains. Crazy right? Well that is what you get in the most densely populated metropolitan area in the world.

Last night was different though. She came in crying. And as I cuddled her she ranted about how much she hated her job. I know that she is the only person she could confide in. Complaining is not the Japanese way. You suffer in silence. You have to take it for the team. If you veer off course, it means that you are selfish, you have to think of what is best for the group.

I did not know what to say to her. Except that she could resign and have me take care of her. She, however, would hear none of it. She is a modern woman, independent, and is hell bent on working her way up the ladder. I asked her if it was worth it. After all, what is the use of working toward something that is taking such a toll on you? She is not even thirty, plus Japan is a very misogynistic society, it is highly unlikely that she will be promoted over a man with similar drive and qualifications. Worse, we are thinking about having kids, this means time off from work, which in Japan means demerit points. And hence she will be further away from achieving her goals.

Momoka has her dreams and her aspirations. I support her in her endeavors, but at times I wonder if she will become another victim of kiroshi. Or merely just burn out. I am not certain, for now all I can do is give her a shoulder to cry on, while she continues to work 14 hour shifts.

Sort:  

That is so sad and I am glad you are trying to help her in every way you can. You see, this is the thing about this modern world that I hate, and I wish I was born sometime in the past and feel very nostalgic. Though I wonder if it would still have made any difference to me, I feel life wouldn't have been so very stressful to such a large fraction of people today. I mean I think the fraction of people truly enjoying their lives must have been more then than what it is today 🙂

Yeah. It's not easy my friend.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Very crowded Humas activity in the city