Another Day Without Plastic Money. My First Time In A "Salt Room" & The Start Of My New Keto Diet!

in #health7 years ago

What an active and productive day, all achieved without phones and plastic money (two things we're trying to cut back on as I explained in my post here.

To start with, we started working with our horses to train our mare to walk over obstacles. We're breaking her in at the moment and we're up to the stage of doing some unmounted trail rides a little further from our area. The one we're targeting has a metal bar obstacle that's quite tall put in by the council to prevent dirt bikes from getting into the trail. The bars are too high however and even our seasoned horse had trouble stepping over it. So we've got to prepare our mare. She stepped over a small plank of wood a few times but it's hard for her. Everything has to be taught from the ground up with horses. What seems simple to us can be quite a challenge for them for the first time.

With that done, I just felt like a massage. I've started up with some more physical activity with some people I work with and I'm feeling the increased activity so I had a bit of a google. Decided against the shopping center places and opted for a lovely home run business south of Brisbane called Salt & Soul. They not only run massage but have their own salt room which provides all sorts of benefits. Here's a picture of their salt room from their facebook page (I didn't have my phone to take a photo with!)

salt.jpg

Their website explains it all quite well (after spelling corrections were made by me)

Our halogenerator grinds salt into fine particles which are sent into the Salt Cave and absorbed through the skin or inhaled during regular breathing.

During a Salt Cave session the bright lights are dimmed and Himalayan Salt Lamps glow, giving the cave a beautiful relaxing ambient glow. The sound of the waves reaching the beach add that extra relaxing experience.

The benefits are many and varied, to aid and assist suffers of many conditions including but not limited to Asthma, Eczema, COPD, Sinus, Psoriasis, Cold & Flu, Anxiety

The 45 minute session cost $20 and afterwards I could feel my skin was smoother (the very same positive experience after bathing in the ocean, my skin has always responded instantly and positively to salt exposure). Quite a relaxing experience. My wife had a massage there too from someone who was also a claimed psychic. She did raise a few points that were curious but personally I'm not one for the art of the psychic.

Then it was off to the shops to buy a few days worth of fatty products for the keto program I'm starting. I've done a keto diet before and shed lots of fat and felt strong and great. I don't seem to be the type who responds well to carbs.

food.png

We've just finished making and eating this Keto Carbonara courtesy of dietdoctor.com. See here for the amazing meal plans they have for free.

Whilst at the shops we rented Despicable Me 3 so we should be in for an afternoon of laughs. I confess however, the transaction with the DVD rental machine could only be made with a credit card so the day was a cash day with that as an exception!

Time to throw the movie on!

Sort:  

Really Awesome idea, best wishes. @nolnocluap

Hey thanks @oodeyaa 👍

You are welcome @nolnocluap
Follow me,
@oodeyaa

You enjoyed !
did you make Keto Carbonara yourself ?

Yeah from the recipe. It's an easy dish. Pic from website.

It certainly was!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nolnocluap from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed...

You not only blog excellently but you garnish us with yummy food... Thanks for sharing

Hey thanks @kenhudoy!

Welcome and do find time to check my blog posts too 😎

I love salt rooms, got rid of a few running and stuffy noses relaxing in these. And that carbonara looks de-liscious!

Thanks @furious-one. Interesting to hear that others have had success in salt rooms. I'm looking forward to todays culinary wonders!

Massage and salt room sound like they are right up my alley... The Keto Carbonara looks delicious. Our family doesn't do well on carbs so we try to limit them. We haven't tried a full Keto diet yet...

It takes discipline as you need to have everything prepared. Keeping daily intake of carbs to under 10 or 15g a day is arduous. You'd be amazed at what contains carbs so if you're caught out without a meal you can't just buy some fruit or a sandwich. That aside it's awesome. Because it's calorie dense you dont need to eat as much. Give it a try and thanks for your comment!

You are welcome.