10 Health Benefits of Cucumber

in #health7 years ago (edited)

As a dietitian student health plays an important role in my life. I'm going to share some easy to follow tips and facts every once in a while. Here is my first post in the topic.

Cucumbers are a valuable source of conventional antioxidant nutrients including vitamin C, beta-carotene, and manganese. In addition, cucumbers contain numerous flavonoid antioxidants, including quercetin, apigenin, luteolin, and kaempferol. Summer is the perfect time to enjoy this refreshing veggie.

Cucumber-water.jpg

1. Cucumbers are 95 percent water, so they're hydrating.

2. Cucumbers are considered as one of the best home remedies for diabetes. The hormones in cucumber are required by the pancreas to produce insulin.

3. Cucumbers are extremely low in calories and contain high amounts of dietary fibre.

4. Potassium in cucumbers has blood pressure lowering effects. Intake of foods with potassium is very important to keep your heart healthy.

5. Due to its low calorie and high water content, cucumber is an ideal diet for people who looking for weight loss.

Cucumber-Detox-Juice.jpg

6. Cucumbers, being a cool vegetable, has a soothing effect on the eyes and skin that reduces swelling and inflammation. It decreases morning puffiness as well as treats sunburn.

7. The B vitamins in cucumbers help ease stress and anxiety. There are several vitamin Bs in cucumbers: Vitamins B1, B3, B5, B6 and B7.

8. Cucumbers are a good source of magnesium and water, which are two best elements for treating migraines.

9. Application of cucumber juice on your hairs make your hair shiny, removes dandruff and minimizes hair loss.

10. Drinking a glass of cucumber water when you’re hungry can help you make it until your next meal if it’s not quite mealtime. Eating when you’re not actually hungry can lead to weight gain.

Sort:  

I love cucumbers especially the mini ones. I ate some cucumbers today and you reminded me to eat more! Eating some right now as I write this!

Me too, they are kind of superfoods! They are easy to grow too! I have planty of them in my garden!

Great tips. I've been craving cucumber, so I presume I'm needing all the nutrients it contains.

I am also a nutrition/dietitian student! I have just completed my first year and have 2 1/2 more to go.

I see the most of your posts are on travel, but do you have any plans on creating more health related posts? Would be nice to have someone to discuss with :)

Yes I'm planning more posts in health! Where are You from? :)

I also have two more years to go, but i've just started my health sciences phd with my sociology degree, so im excited about all the new things!! :)

@nooriiii, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

I love cucumber smoothies mixed with green apples, they are delicious. Also cucumber salad with tomatoes and dill.

Sounds delicious! Try water with cucumbers, lemon and mentha! Its so refreshing!!

If you visit Knoxville, TN, you need to visit a small restaurant called Petro's. they serve an amazing Cucumber salad.

I hope one day! Thanks for the tip :)