Living With HIV: My Path To Recovery

in #health6 years ago

Fighting The Constant Battle

img
Image: Own

Since being diagnosed in 2014, I have had to change my antiretroviral cocktails three times. As said, third time's a charm. Indeed it is so for me.

My first cocktail of antiretrovirals (Darunavir, Lamivudine, Tenofovir & Ritonavir) were the worst. I had the most horrible side effects, which lead to my non compliance. More than just that, it wasn't benefitting me at all. My second cocktail (Raltegravir, Tenofovir & Lamivudine) were really tolerable, and showed promise after a month of taking it. However, after 2 years taking it, the doctors concluded that I'm experiencing treatment failure. My CD4 was at an all time low of 150, and the viral load at 87,000 copies. My CD4 when I was first diagnosed was 250, and my viral load 38,000 copies.

Seeing the numbers, my doctor felt that it was time to pull out the big guns.

The Turning Point

dolutegravir.jpg
Image: AIDSInfo NIH

In came my third cocktail - Dolutegravir, Tenofovir & Emtricitabine. While I was praying that they would work, the results were beyond expectations. In less than a month, my viral load went from 87,000 copies to 55 copies. My CD4 climbed to 190. For my last test in November 2017, my viral load is presently undetectable and my CD4 has nearly doubled to 298.

It was indeed a great recovery, which even surprised my own doctor.

Now, I just hope that my CD4 will continue climbing and that this cocktail will work for me in the long run.

Multi Pronged Approach For Wellness

I'm a firm believer of the Middle Path approach. Which is what I applied for my wellness regime. On top of taking my medications, I also supplement myself. I decided to use myself as a guinea pig and see if my approach will work for me.

Natural-Medicines-Herbs-South-Dublin-Ireland-300x241.jpg
Image: Yoga Medicine

Since my medications dosage is once per day, I take it at around noon. At midnight comes my arsenal of supplements.

Here's what I supplement myself with on a daily basis:

1. Nigella Sativa

I have posted on the various benefits of Nigella Sativa. So, suffice to say, it definitely makes it to my supplements list.

2. Coconut Oil

It is both immune stimulating and acts as a natural antiviral. HIV is a lipid coated virus. Coconut oil contains monolaurin which helps to dissolve the lipid coating of the virus. 1

3. Olive Leaf

Olive leaf has shown to inhibit HIV infection and replication, while modulating cells that are infected with HIV. 2

4. Bee Propolis

When its from the bees, you know its best for you. Bee propolis has shown to be able to suppress HIV replication and modulate our immune system. 3

5. Proteolytic & Digestive Enzymes

Since having had my gallbladder removed, I supplement with digestive enzymes. On top of these, I also consume Serratiopeptidase as part of my supplement.

Of course, that coupled with lifestyle changes and such, I think it lead to the jump and quick recovery.

Now, I feel so much better and am multiple times healthier than I was before. Motivated, and renewed to fight through and heal myself.


POZitivityspace

Disclaimer: This post is intended solely for informational purposes only. It is not and should not be viewed as medical advice, treatment or diagnosis. Please consult your healthcare professionals should you require medical advice.


Resources:

[1] Anita Hardon, Alice Desclaux, Marc Egrot, Emmanuelle Simon, Evelyne Micollier, and Margaret Kyakuwa
Alternative medicines for AIDS in resource-poor settings: Insights from exploratory anthropological studies in Asia and Africa; J Ethnobiol Ethnomed. 2008; 4: 16. Published online 2008 Jul 10. doi: 10.1186/1746-4269-4-16. PMCID: PMC2503967

[2] Lee-Huang S, Zhang L, Huang PL, Chang YT, Huang PL.
Anti-HIV activity of olive leaf extract (OLE) and modulation of host cell gene expression by HIV-1 infection and OLE treatment.; Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 2003 Aug 8;307(4):1029-37. PMID: 9309384

[3] Harish Z, Rubinstein A, Golodner M, Elmaliah M, Mizrachi Y.
Suppression of HIV-1 replication by propolis and its immunoregulatory effect.; Drugs Exp Clin Res. 1997;23(2):89-96. PMID: 9309384

Sort:  

Everything will be fine

yup. keeping the positive thought.

Kind of too late to upvote. i am not been on steemit for a while...i am too busy.
Look like you have a good attitude and path to treat yourself. keep your spirit high and happy too it is important. My brother pass due to HIV in 1993. i was his care taker. At that time we didn't know half of what we know now. sending you much love

Thank you. Yes, I do believe that a positive spirits repels the ills and negativity. So sorry to hear about the passing of your brother. It was great that you were by his side taking care of him during an era while the disease was still misunderstood. Sending you love and light. =)

I remember my Dad asking me "Why do you take care of your Brother? he never did anything for you" which my answer was "He is my Brother". My Brother knew he will die young he said he will die at 33 years old which he did. when he told me that. He make me Promise to take care of him. I was 13 years old at that time. 17 years before he passed.