Seizure Disorders and Relief with Epsom Salts

in #health6 years ago

Research indicates Seizures can be Triggered by Hypomagnesemia

Years ago I heard Dr. Carolyn Dean MD ND on a podcast She was so passionate about magnesium. After my own research I decided that magnesium was something I needed to supplement into my diet.

There are different types of magnesium, so it all became confusing as to what I needed. After a few months I found magnesium citrate and discovered that, without magnesium, the calcium could not be absorbed well into my body and bones. My health issue was Old-Lady Knees. Sure, I was an old lady, but I did not want to have old lady knees. My doctor tried to put me on a chemical to relieve the pain - nothing more. ...just relieve the pain. That was unacceptable to me.

Magnesium forms a variety of compounds important to industry and biology, including magnesium carbonate, magnesium chloride, magnesium citrate, magnesium hydroxide (milk of magnesia), magnesium oxide, magnesium sulfate, and magnesium sulfate heptahydrate (Epsom salts). source

I ordered magnesium citrate and took it daily. To my delight and surprise, not only did the pain go away, but the calcium was now helping to restore the necessary padding and stopped the knee pain.

Years later, a family member began suffering seizures. He seemed always very excitable. Loving coffee, tea and soda was contributing to this excitability. He was reluctantly put on medicine for his condition.

photo source

Seizure threshold.JPG

In most states, as in Virginia, a doctor is ethically obligated to report to state authorities any seizures and other types of disorders affecting the ability to drive safely. Forward going, some states will occasionally monitor the drivers through a request for a physician's report.

I remember Dr. Carolyn Dean mentioning how just a simple Epsom salts foot bath is a way to relieve anxiety and tension. Epsom salts is Magnesium and Sulfur.

My suggestion to use Epsom salts for relief was immediately met with near scorn from family members. The idea that a simple foot bath could reduce seizures was almost laughable.

Eventually, I was able to get my suggestion taken seriously. Research from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) indicates successfully treating certain seizure disorders with magnesium has positive results.

Mg magnesium.JPG
image source

The below link report from the National Institutes of Health is very remarkable

Hypomagnesemia - Low magnesium levels

Hypomagnesemia contributed to the cause of the seizures in all 3 cases. Various causes of hypomagnesemia were investigated, including genetic etiologies. All 3 patients were maintained at a magnesium level >0.65 mmol/L, which improved or eliminated the seizures. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5417264/

Always consult with your physician prior to any supplement use


The neurologist providing care for our family member with seizure disorder was unimpressed when he was informed about the use of Epsom salts, basically saying If it gives comfort, it cannot do any harm.

I'm happy to state that Epsom salts foot baths, as well as magnesium supplements are now part of the additions to his diet, and the results are truly beneficial. The excitability and daily distractions are nearly gone. His driving is more focused too. We are all hoping he can reduce or eliminate the medicine.

If you find this information useful, please Resteem.

Sort:  

I've found that magnesium supplements are calming.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Quiplet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.