You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are We Playing God? CRISPR Gene Editing

in #health7 years ago

If you can alter your kids genes so he or she is bigger and stronger compared to someone who can't afford to "design their baby" and splice out any defects. Many feel that's an unfair advantage. Which I really didn't touch upon in this post but will in future ones. 🌞

Sort:  

This topic can get deep very fast.

For example. I know another way to alter my kids genes.

Pick a partner that will supply better genes. the old-fashioned way of mixing genes to create a new life. Wayne Gretzky picked an actress for a wife. Have you seen their daughter, Paulina?

Is that also "unfair"?

What if we pull up studies that link your gene pool to performance on standardized IQ tests. Is life therefore "unfair" for those that come from the gene pool that doesn't do as well on standardized IQ tests?

I'll back off. You had a lot of good points in your post. Thought provoking.

Well done !!

My reaction was only at the end when you started to invoke "fair" and "unfair".

Those are usually code words for some other agenda.

No agenda here just bringing awareness of CRISPR, I prefer it the old fashion natural way and hope it stays that way. Thanks for replying. I like a little back and forth sometimes instead of the same responses. Yes, it can get deep but I think we are on the same page :) Thank you.