You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Yoga - Cow Face Pose

in #health8 years ago

Yay, YOGA! To Patanjali, I salute.
I too practice ashtanga, and I enjoy introducing the Western yogi to the depths of the practice rather than just asana. I interpret asteya to mean non-stealing, and of course integrity is foundational for not taking what isn't yours. Thanks for sharing your perspective!

Sort:  

Yay Yoga! Yay Patanjali! Yay 8 limbs!
:D

Yes indeed, so much more than the asana is available to help us to progress.
And so much more value than the simply physical - (which is valuable, sure, but there is so much more, right?).

Sanskrit translations are very interesting, are they not?
Not understanding the words myself without translations of others, I work to apply my own understanding and experience to the translations I read and apply broad interpretation to them.
You're absolutely right .. integrity requires non-stealing.

Best yogi wishes to you,
Namaste.

Love & Peace & Freedom.