You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plant Medicine Knowledge - What Do You All Want to Know About?

in #health8 years ago

Hi @jenncapestany! He's specifically asking for me since recently I learned I might be dealing with a nickel food allergy (systemic nickel allergy syndrome) that's exacerbating existing food allergies. It's not clear whether the current food allergies are a result of heavy metal toxicity or something else as I've dealt with extreme Adrenal Fatigue Syndrome and leaky gut syndrome as well.

Sort:  

I understand. That's a challenging food allergy to have too. Did you have the patch test to determine that you react to nickel, or a urine test for other heavy metals? If you're not sure, I can only suggest that you get tested to see if you truly have toxic levels of heavy metals in your body. The detoxing process for heavy metal toxicity can be pretty intense. I wouldn't want to go through that process unless I knew for sure that I had to. It's certainly within the realm of possibility that your struggle with endocrine/immune/gut issues has led to a nickel sensitivity. Test results could be really useful here. At that point you can make the decision to use natural methods or whatever treatment you think best from a fully informed standpoint. Does that make sense? Hope I don't sound too preachy!

No not preachy at all, I appreciate any advice on the subject since it's so new to me. I've had a scratch test done in the past, but never for nickel. Not sure that I would react to it on my skin if it's systemic, though? (Could be wrong.) Having a urine test for heavy metals sounds like the best next step. I've heard detoxing heavy metals can be intense and drawn out so if that's not the culprit, no need to go that route.

Yup, systemic nickel allergy syndrome should still exhibit contact dermatitis and eczema-like outbreaks. In fact it's a hallmark of the syndrome.