7 & 1/2 months to a slight ray of hope

in #health3 years ago

been bitching about my arm since mid july; have spent most of last month at a 4-6 range pain level during the day, and 5-8 range at night.

not the most conducive to writing lol

idk when last update here was or what i said, so i'll summarize current diagnosis:
l. arm carpal tunnel syndrome
l. arm ulnar entrapment
mild pinched nerve at cervical c-7, affecting l.arm
(of the previous 3, neurologist says any one of them could cause these symptoms)
l. shoulder probable aggravated rotator cuff
l. arm multiple "trigger points" - little bumps/cysts that can cause referred pain in other locations when pressed, aka "muscle knots" or myofacial

I have tried with inconsistent results (ie, sometimes they work, sometimes they dont...mostly not over last month)

acupuncture
massage
ibuprofen
naproxen
cbd
amitriptyline
gabapentin
traction to neck
ice packs
hot tub
hot shower

Today

been sittin pretty at a 0-3 pai9n level. i started a oral steroid "6 pack" today. i been tellin the doc that inflammation is part of the problem for some time now, but he dont think so. yesterday was so bad that I had to go camp out at VA for half the day, but once i got to see him, he reluctantly agrred to my suggestion ( actually, the acupuncturist's, and my friend the ex=ortho nurse suggestion) to try the oral steroids inlieu of a cortizone shot.

the acid test will come tonight...after 11 pm is when the bitch of the pain starts up with me.

https://www.drugs.com/mtm/medrol-dosepak.html

so far, my pain has been in back of shoulder and at elbow today, at the new reduced lvl. usually, it's all up and down my arm. I had 20 of those "trigger points", and its already down to 8.

and i have run out of energy to discuss this...anyway, we'll see if this gets better ovr the next 5 days. also scheduled to start physical and occupational therapy in next coupla weeks (reminds me I need to list out all the times I've hurt this arm over the yaers)

good night and dont let the nerve pain bite ;>