You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💧 How Much and What Kind of Water is Best for Your Health?

in #health6 years ago

I have heard some excellent things about the Berkey filter. I need to research that more.

You are right that distilled water has certain problems in that there is no mineral content.

Glass bottled mineral water with a squirt of lemon or lime juice is also a nice change of pace with healthy benefits.

Thanks for stopping by and reminding me about the Berkey filter!
~T

Sort:  

The Berkey does not come with fluoride filters, fyi. Where we lived in NJ did not fluoridate. It's great for camping. You can literally pour pond scum in it and have super clean fresh tasting clear water. I have had glass bottled water that I liked. But I don't want to support any company that hoards and commodifies life's essentials anymore.

I forgot to mention a great hack if distilled water is the only water available - just add a pinch of pink Himalayan salt and voila! Instant electrolytes and minerals!

That's unfortunate about the Berkey not having a fluoride filter option. I wish our municipality didn't fluoridate. I guess I'm going to have to start a stop fluoridating lobby in my community.

Totally understand about not wishing to support those companies commodifying the essentials. I wonder if those soda fountain machines for personal use could make a decent tasting mineral water? I'll have to look into that.
~T

@movement19 I was checking the Berkey site and they do have fluoride filters available so WIN! 😀

Indeed they do. We never needed them since the county we lived in does not fluoridate. I would recommend Berkey. They also offer an optional stainless steel spout so as not to run your water through plastic.