Christmas!! What happened to the Christmas Spirit

in #healthlast year

Just like every Christian. Christmas has indeed been one holiday everybody usually look up to from when they were little. Christmas for me this year sort of felt different from how it used to be when I was growing up. Somehow childhood is indeed one of the best times of Christmas as we used to always look forward to the holiday with so much excitement because it's a holiday involving sharing of gifts and thus one of the favorite periods for every child. Growing up, I usually looked forward to helping my mom decorate the house for Christmas and being a Nigerian. My parents always take us to the village to celebrate with the extended family and it was fun because we get to meet and interact with our cousins since there was no academic work then it was also a period to play as much as we want to till we got tired.

img_0.9661049237376853

Fast forward to the thing now in 2022. Christmas no longer feels like it was when I was growing up. I almost celebrated my Christmas in school as an optometry student. I had to wait back in school to attend to patients before going home for the holidays and it was not fun because most students has traveled back home and just only the student live very far and didn't feel the need to celebrate Christmas since the holiday was a short one.

For, I traveled back to the village as usual as an adult. But my parents are yet to be back as they would be traveling to the village from a different state. I wasn't too excited to get to the village but I knew it won't be fun celebrating in school. Well, I got to the village and then received a phone call from my sibling about how their vehicle got spoilt on the way. So I got to the village alone and stayed in the house waiting for my parents to arrive at the village and sadly they arrived at 1 am that night.

Christmas is indeed a fun holiday but it's no longer as fun as it used to be. Would it be because we are now adults that's why the Christmas spirit seems to be fading away or what?

img_0.800887596142526