You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My diabetes story - Part 4: The Big Lie

in #health7 years ago

I'm sorry to hear about your neighbour. It's always hard to lose someone before their time, regardless of their age.

Though, that's not actually the worst part for me. I mean I get choked up about it when I think of the people who have passed that we could not help, but the very worst part of it for me is facing the people I still can't help.

There's family, friends and complete strangers I see everywhere that I see are in pain, in trouble, and I want to help them out so badly, to tell them that they don't have to live like this, there is an answer. But while you can tell them, you get all kinds of different reactions, from silent denial to outright anger, or some kind of bargaining. I know, I've seen the lot.

It actually makes me realise and appreciate even more what phenomenal bravery my friend had when he told me about his diet. He didn't say much, and left the research and whether to do anything about it to me, but he planted the seed, for which I am eternally grateful, and have told him so. He basically saved my life through a few short, well placed, brave words to a sceptic.

I understand the reactions that people have when I tell them that there's an answer, because I had exactly the same ones when I was faced with the truth, but ultimately I think my friend did the right thing with me. This is a change you have to want to make. Someone just needs to plant the seeds and see if they'll take root and grow, because this isn't a quick fix, it's a complete upheaval and reversal of decades of learned behaviours and tastes.

It's completely worth it and you know it's working about 3 days into it, when you're finally starting to detox of the sugars and getting into ketogenesis for the first time, experiencing the euphoria and boost in energy, stamina and mental cognition, but getting to that point, and learning everything you need to know is a lot of work and research.

Mainly because we don't have our parents showing us how to live properly for the first 20 years of our lives anymore. Most of this knowledge society has been losing steadily for the last 200 years. We have to relearn all that knowledge day by day, meal by meal, making mistakes, having relapses and learning lessons.

Sort:  

Thank you. She was a wonderful lady that is greatly missed.

You make such valid points. It really is painful to think of the people who we've lost, yet heart-wrenching to think of the people who are still living with these problems...myself included. As you say it's a matter of relearning, making mistakes, relapsing, and starting over.

My family and I have gone on a voyage to find "real" foods. We've even gone so far as to start "urban foraging." Since cutting processed foods from our diet and putting in actual food, we've all begun to feel the difference: increased metabolism, quicker recall, and so much more. Between the three of us, I'm certain that we've lost an entire person.

Keep on, rocking on @triddin!