On: The Cure That Works

in #healthcare22 days ago

IMG SRC https://img.redbull.com/images/c_crop,x_0,y_85,h_864,w_1920/c_fill,w_1700,h_780/q_auto,f_auto/redbullcom/2023/5/29/qvive0zz3svhcsuqxnau/ayhancan-guven-dtm-oschersleben-2023 has nothing to do with the post, just thought it was cool and I have free will.

To be discussed in class
For emphasis

In 2020 Dr. Sean Masaki Flynn gave a chat about healthcare.

I do not have many thoughts about this topic so this post wont be very long. However, I'll highlight a couple of things I thought were interesting about this video:

Metasve accounts in Singapore

I like that its privatized, I'm not too sure how I feel about the government guaranteeing a 4% return. Government guarantees usually dont end well for the economy. Why couldn't this just bee completely private? Why can't we opt out of social security or medicaid and just go for a Fidelity "medidelity" account?

Price Competition

This didint really surprise me because I've heard this quite a bit, but I wanted to emphasize it because its a valid point. How well price competition in lasik translates to getting a stint put in... I'd like to discuss that.

BACK TO METASAVE

Okay, I've just come across an incredibly gruesome but poignant idea that deals with the idea that the government not guaranteeing returns:

Say the government doesn't guarantee returns and the country goes into a terrible recession. People that need medical attention lose the ability to afford such medical care; They die - probably tens, if not hundreds of thousands per 6 month of recession. Would this not be a motivating factor for businesses to compete and perform in a manner that ultimately discourages recessions? The same could be said for governments, because most, if not all recessions I've seen have been either heavily or directly due to government intervention (this is something I've wanted to dissect for a while: Gen Z's view of the United States and its government, let me know if you're interested in a post, or series of posts, like that). Could the question: "well if we offer this stimulus, thousands could die due to it" could be a life-altering discussion among policy makers?