Avoiding Freshman 15!

in #healthy20186 years ago (edited)

Starting university means struggling with the magical freshman 15, aka gaining an estimated 15 pounds during your first year of University. But what causes freshman 15? As a student, many many things cause you to gain weight. You have free access to unlimited food in the cafeteria, you start to socially drink more, stress eating, having a lack of money for the right food and more. It is all fun until you realize all that you are doing is adding to your weight.

Freshman-15-Scale (1).jpg
http://sites.psu.edu/siowfa14/2014/09/08/the-freshman-15-and-eating-disorders/

Before focusing on ways to prevent it, it is always important to remember that it is natural to experience weight change and you are not alone. There are many people out there as well dealing with the same thing. Struggling with your weight does not make you less beautiful. It just means you are human!

Now that you are interested, here are ways to prevent it. The first change in students lives when starting university is the cafeteria! Most universities offer unlimited buffet style cafeterias for their students when they purchase the meal plan. This means unlimited fries, desserts and more. But this also means unlimited vegetables, fruit, and other healthy options. The first issue to attack is self-control. With self-control, it gives you the ability to make the right decision on what to eat.

It is also important to watch what you eat outside of the cafeteria! Although food is expensive, many students enjoy having quick snacks in your room. Chips, candy, popcorn, these snacks are not ideal! Although they are cheap, having bananas, apple, granola bars, etc, are cheap smart choices to snack on! Having said that, be mindful about what you are eating in and outside of the cafeteria, especially when dealing with stress and more.

860-header-eating-slowly-iStock_000048836748_Double.jpg
https://www.sciencenewsforstudents.org/article/control-overeating-slow-down

Another awesome method to prevent freshman 15 is taking advantage of your free access to the gym and other physical activities. Whether you are walking on a treadmill or attending free yoga classes, you are increasing your heart rate which has a positive effect on your body. Drinking plenty of water is also very important as a freshman since it keeps you energized and it also helps you lose weight. Many students may consider it to be difficult to make time for physical activity but this is something that should become a priority. Physical activity not only prevents freshman 15 but it also reduces stress and more.

working-out-woman-that-drinks-water.jpg
https://www.well-beingsecrets.com/how-much-water-should-you-drink-per-day/

Sharing my story of freshman 15! I am a student attending the University of Ottawa. I use to a big athlete as I participated in many sports like soccer, running, swimming and more. However before starting my first year at university, I found out that I have an issue with my spleen stopping me from being apart of the things that I love. After 3 long surgeries within the past year, I have been refrained from attending the gym, I had been in recovery for weeks after surgeries and many other stressful situations causing me to gain weight. It has been long enough for me and I am ready to make a change. I started from the bottom and I am working my way back up. Slowly getting back into the gym and focusing more on what I eat. I am ready to make a change. I am ready to defeat freshman 15. I am ready to be healthy.

Taking time for yourself and working on your self-control is an important aspect of freshman year. Freshman 15 is something that plays an affect on many students but there are always ways to prevent it. We are beautiful human beings but there is always room for improvement entering 2018.

I'd like to thank my mother @gardengirlcanada for introducing to me this contest as I am currently dealing with the struggle of freshman 15 and it is something I will overcome during my year 2018. I'd also like to thank @goldendawne for starting this contest for me to be apart of as it gives me the opportunity to share my new years resolutions!

Stay beautiful ladies and gentleman!

  • Emily

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

@originalworks

Sort:  

WOW! I didn't officially attend college as a young person, or live in a dorm/housing... but I can SOOOO relate to the 15-lb thing!

I am currently dealing with the struggle of freshman 15 and it is something I will overcome during my year 2018

YOU can succeed! Stay focused and with @gardengirlcanada's help you will conquer this!

Thank you so much! I know I have been very frustrated with my weight fluctuating by 15-lbs or so, I thought it was about time I'd share with everyone what I'm doing to help work towards it! Hopefully, this does help many people out there! I'm not giving up on my goals this year and once I defeat them, I'll go the extra mile to do better! Your motivational words definitely help! Thanks again!

This tag #healthy2018 is all about improvements and supporting each other; no matter the reason. Weight loss, financial, emotional- just positive changes we are enduring and trying to conquer!

SO happy you joined the challenge!
AND GOOD LUCK!!!