Oticon OPN1 - 1.2 Billion Operations per second

in #hearing7 years ago

Hello Steemit.

I am a hearing impaired Doctor of Audiology. I joined Steemit because I have both a keen interest in the blockchain space and also a desire to bring my clinical and personal experiences with hearing loss to others. I hope that this might be a vessel to help others who are searching for answers.

I created this profile in an attempt to allow people who are suffering themselves from hearing loss or have a loved one or friend who suffers from hearing loss a venue to ask questions or to get clarification to their proper hearing solution.

The hearing aid journey can be a tough one for the consumer. Most hearing aid technologies are all presented as being capable of solving the problems associated with hearing loss. I have found only relatively few technologies to have truly alleviated my communication difficulties or those of my patients on a daily basis.

Like blockchain technologies (EOS - parallel processing ~10,000Tx/sec vs ~3 Tx/sec with Bitcoin), some hearing aid technologies are much better and more capable than others. These technologies are measured with metrics called MIPS and MOPS (Millions of Instructions per second and Millions of Operations per second). The current best hearing technology for example is capable of 1,200 MOPS or 1.2 Billion operations per second directed towards emulating the function of normal hearing neuroanatomy with a microprocessor.

It will be my sincere goal in these posts to educate those searching for answers regarding hearing loss, hearing aids and the general topic of audiological service provision. So please ask me your questions and I will do my best to help you.