Hedgehog in a garden at Stord

in #hedgehog5 years ago

The European hedgehog (Erinaceus europaeus) is often seen in the garden, it looks like they are thriving here. It comes from that in the garden they find something to eat. Hedgehogs are almost omnivorous and eat both earthworms​, insects or snails.
The hedgehog is also not afraid to embark on snakes, mice and frogs. Birds and eggs can also be placed on the menu of the hedgehog.
In the garden,​ one can often see the hedgehog in the morning or in the evening. In the morning, there were​ small water droplets in the grass and it looked like the hedgehog thrived in the wet grass.
In Norway, the hedgehog has the largest distribution along the coast north to the area at Bodø in Nordland county.
The pictures show hedgehogs that are in search of something to eat.

DSC_1581.jpg

DSC_1533.jpg

DSC_1554.jpg

DSC_1539.jpg

DSC_1577.jpg

DSC_1581 (1).jpg

Sort:  

I really like hedgehogs :-)

When I was little we had a hedgehog at home,
but he kept everyone awake, and a week later we let him go
into the woods.

They sleep during the day and night running around the apartment and knock on the floor with their paws. It was pretty funny...

Thank you for the wonderful photos , dear friend @Siggjo

Thank you for your personal story about the hedgehog, my dear friend @Singa
and thanks for your comments about my pictures of the hedgehog.

I love reading your blog dear @Siggjo

I always learn something useful and interesting from
your publications!

Especially like how you cook and collect berries for the winter :-)

Wonderful pictures and description of the view, my Dear friend @Siggjo! I've always been interested in hedgehogs, in childhood, I dreamed of my own hedgehog. But, one day, in childhood, they told me a story about how a kind owner gave a hedgehog a lot of milk and the hedgehog died. He could not stop. They say that hedgehogs have no brakes, he will drink milk as much as he sees him. This story made me reject this idea, let hedgehogs live in the wild.

Thank You for the interesting story from your childhood @Barski
I also have learned that you should not give them milk. These hedgehogs are finding their food themnselves.