Is it worth writing about a niche?

in #help7 years ago

Yesterday I posted my introduction post and after that I started to think about the things I want to write on. Things related to CGI (computer graphic imagery) like the Unreal 4 game engine, 3d Model workflows and best VR practices. I have more subjects to write about like Travelling, photography, cryptocurrencies / blockchain and life in general. However, my specialty lies in the computer graphics industry. Therefore I would love to write the most about that.

So here comes the issue, I might be able to write a beautiful article about lightmapping in Autodesk Maya for the use in UE4, however I am wondering if anyone would be interested in reading this stuff. Yesterday when I posted my introduction I saw that there was no VR tag yet, which kinda amazed me because most of us here are technology minded.


Lightmapping in Maya, quite the niche. Source: http://worldofleveldesign.com/

After a bit of surfing Steemit I noticed that there are different type of users out there. There are the ones that use steemit as they do twitter, post a image with a caption and call it done. And there are the ones that take the time to write an in depth article and really dive into it. There are also the users that do somethings in between like sharing news, re-steeming and creating small articles that make you think.

For now I will stick to the subject that are written most about like crypto’s, photography and life. I do hope to write about my profession a bit in the near future.

So before you leave could you answer some questions for me?

  1. Is the user base big enough to write about niches like VR or lightmap tutorials?

  2. What kind of article do you like the most?
    a. Short like twitter
    b. Medium like this
    c. Long like my introduction post
    d. Extra long?

  3. Is there a Dutch community out here and have you guys ever met in person?

My introduction post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dutchlife/gooooodmorning-steemiiiiiit-introducing-myself

Sort:  

It all depends of what niche we talk about some may be popular others not, just try and you will see.

I don't like twitter style usually because it doesn't have anything useful some kind of guide approach or wikipedia style is much better but takes much more time.

Making it extra long is bad idea, better split in several articles, it must be exceptional for people so they could read all of the huge text.

Congratulations @dutchlife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!