Changing e-mail account associated with Steemit?

in #help7 years ago

Is there a way to change the email account associated with our Steemit account?

The email service I had has decided to go from free to paid (which I cannot afford at all), so the account I used to sign up will soon be in the hands of a complete stranger (once I loose it because I cannot pay).

Or does Steemit not send anything to that account once you've signed up?

Help??? 0_0

Sort:  

Hi @iceflower, it doesn't appear as if there is an option to change your email. However, after a week and a half the only email I have received is the account creation notification.

It's worth noting that Steemit doesn't offer a way to reset your password if you forget it. This works in your favour as it means anybody who may possibly receive an email from Steemit wouldn't be able to do anything with it.

I hope this helps!

I've tried to clear out the inbox, in anticipation of loosing the account, and as you say, in more than a week of being here, I, too, haven't received anything since the original emails related to starting the account. So hopefully they aren't sending anything else.

Thanks for the reply!

This is the official answer from help page,
hoping that they will change in future

What happens if my email or phone number changes?

Currently there is no way to change the email or phone number that is linked to your account. Though once your account is created, you can continue to use it even if the email or phone number that is linked to the account has changed.

https://steemit.com/faq.html#What_happens_if_my_email_or_phone_number_changes

They definitely need to work on this...