Sort:  

@timcliff and I thank you! Actually, it was @timcliff who came up with this initiative and asked me if I wanted to help, so in essense, we had tasked ourselves haha!

It was a true team effort! @bitcoiner and I put our skills together to make it happen. It was a lot of fun to work together on this project :)

I see. If you tasked it yourself, how did you get Steemit to accept it?

Well the story was that I had been going on a 'spree' of creating issues in GitHub to try and get more things from the "Wish List" completed. One day I created an issue asking them to create a "Welcome Page", and @sneak assigned the issue to me. I'm not sure if he thought I would actually do it (or if he was just trying to get me to stop creating more issues, hehe), but I decided to accept the challenge.

I asked @bitcoiner to help out, since he had a lot more experience than me with working on changes to the actual Steemit code. We both had our skils that we brought to the table, and between the two of us - we got the content done and submitted it as a pull request.

As far as getting them to accept it, we both communicated with the Steemit dev team quite a bit throughout the process, to ensure that what we were doing was in line what they were expecting. We also had several rounds of "community review" to make sure everyone in the Steemit community was happy with what we were putting up.

Nice! Way to go.