Sharing is Caring

in #help6 years ago

Today I had an experience that proved this to be so true.

My friend locked herself out of her flat. I have her spare key. I was at my co-working space and bicycled home to meet her.

It was inconvenient for me, it was inconvenient for her, but altogether we shared an altruistic moment that will resonate with me for the rest of the day.

I don't think now that I am particularly special or noteworthy, it's more that I did something which inconvenienced me (although not crazily) out of empathy. I know that at some point I might need someone else's help getting into my flat and so I helped her.

Or was that really the reason?

I'm not sure. I like her as a person and so wanted to help, so there is also the direct connection, i.e. if I help her, she will help me. But I also just like helping her, even if there was never anything else to come in return in the future.

Well I suppose this is what makes society function, right?

Hope you all have a nice day!

Sort:  

Congratulations @williammollers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @williammollers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!