Praise Blockchain Jesus - Out of RC DEBT HELL

in #hf206 years ago

Praise Blockchain Jesus

Out of RC DEBT HELL!


It would appear if you are reading this that my account is back to life. I was one of the users affected by a bug with claiming discounted accounts and it seemed my RC would take 14 years to just get to 0 RC. However, there has been a lot of hard work, sweat and tears by the SteemIt dev team to make HF20 a success.

At this point, I am a bit wary to be referring to this clusterfuck as a success, but it perhaps may not be a massive failure. The bug that I encountered was unprecedented and had never appeared in HF20 testing before launch. Some users jumped to call me greedy for making the account claims. Like this comment by @fyrstikken on his highly active Github account.

Don't worry about me @fyrstikken. You have enough going on trying to figure out how best to scam the ecosystem without having it backfire like your witness vote selling campaign.

Since quite a few people have been following this story, I want this blog post to be an update for you all on my intentions regarding the account claims; and why I wont be doing it anymore (and why you should think twice about it).


First and foremost; my intentions. The discounted account claims are priced in RC cost on a (hidden) supply/demand market. When there are a lot of available accounts and very little activity claiming them, the price is considerably low. This could even be tens or hundreds of RC. Because it requires SP to claim accounts, I figured the large SP holders such as @steem and @blocktrades would hammer the service. With the recent changes in account creation, you can no longer delegate SP to pay the fee; you need to either use a discounted account I described above, or burn 3 STEEM for the creation.

For every STEEM burned, your STEEM becomes more valuable (potentially; there's also inflation, etc but let's just assume less supply and same demand equals higher prices) and SteemIt has a LOT of it. With this in mind, I intentionally set to claim accounts right away and either claim them all or drive the prices up so the big whales would have to pay more. If you are unaware, I plan to actually use the claimed accounts with my service https://www.steemcreate.com. Also, I was under the wrongful understanding that the discounted account service had the intention for apps to be able to create accounts for new users.

Well, it worked. I claimed the accounts. A bunch of accounts. 710 to be exact. Call this greed if you want, but I definitely wasn't wrong about my assumptions with @steem (1,392 accounts so far) or @blocktrades (313 accounts). Of course there are many other users out there but these two were the ones I was interested in.

What I didn't know was that if you claim a lot of the accounts in a short period of time, and the account claiming activity increases quickly before your transactions are signed into a block, the cost you paid and the price you are charged in RC can GREATLY diverge. This is possible because the RC system is non-consensus and some witnesses and RPC nodes can choose whatever configuration they want to run. When I created the transaction (containing hundreds of accounts claims in one), the system accepted the transaction and began processing it. The transaction was handled through the p2p network and eventually made its way to a witness server where it was signed into a block. However, in this period of time, the cost for an account claim transaction had multiplied astronomically. Remember how I put hundreds of account claims into a transaction? Yeah; that's what fucked my account.

Due to the change of cost, when the block was signed, my account dipped to NEGATIVE 8.4 QUADRILLION RC. This is a problem because my current_max_mana is 8 TRILLION RC. Quite the difference. That's about negative 100,000% of my max mana.. At that point, I started doing a little tracking of the change in my current_mana every time my witness node signed a new block (roughly every 33 minutes). Here's a little screenshot of that:

This data is pulled from 0.20.4 in the beginning and 0.20.5 near the middle/end. You can see a very clear difference in the developing trend from the top to bottom. Things were looking pretty grim today when the RC regen time was leveling off around 9 years.

So basically the system retroactively charged me for a transaction it allowed thru. Now, this is not a one off issue. As it would seem, @blocktrades (currently a 1.8 MILLION SP account) has negative RC. Negative 886 TRILLION RC actually. However, since he is such a large SP holder, his max mana is 3 QUADRILLION. This means he should recover from that debt naturally within a short period of time.


Going forward, I would highly suggest you consider your investment in this network and think about what it would mean to you if you no longer had the ability to transact (power down, transfer, delegate, update witness, etc). I know I will take my account working again as a miracle and take a step back and re-evaluate my level of risk involved in such an unpredictable network. Perhaps when things stabilize a bit Steem will be as appealing an investment to me as it ever was.

In the meantime, glad to be back and I will be around to chat and answer questions if you have any. Remember, anyone is free to join the SteemDevs Discord server for more information on becoming a Steem developer and keeping up with what is going on as it happens.


Vote @netuoso as Witness


Shoutout to those of you that I interacted with during this time that preserved my faith in humanity and its intelligence.


Sort:  

Thanks for a great explanation of what happened.


Welcome back!
sips his Kool-Aid and eats his popcorn

Dear @Netuoso.

I did not like seeing you risking your entire witness account. Such reckless behavior has to be addressed.

Don't worry about me @fyrstikken. You have enough going on trying to figure out how best to scam the ecosystem without having it backfire like your witness vote selling campaign.

My company bought a large stake in this blockchain, we do not want weak witnesses/gatekeepers/block producers to mess that up for us.

I am not worried about you, I am worried about the state of the blockchain if the top 50 is dominated by lazy and/or incompetent people who get into problems like this.

If you had been on @steemspeak during this fork and listened to us in there, you would have known better than to fuck up your witness account as you did. Butthurting to me about it, calling me names... Just be happy you are restored, and I hope you learned an important lesson from this.

Sincerely,
@fyrstikken / @fyrst-witness
Stakeholder.

Secondly, directly to you little man boy, you attacked me and victim blamed on a GitHub issue I raised that brought light to the existence of the bug.

I know you aren't a coder, but using GitHub issues for your drama is not the point of GitHub. It's for actual reports and code updates. Go ahead and close your GitHub account because it is even more worthless than yourself.

!flag

Here! Have a Flag!


im a very useful value add to this network. please vote for my comments

this is a wonderful bot. can i have another !flag ?

Here! Have a Flag!


im a very useful value add to this network. please vote for my comments

Caught hacking with pants down 2017 at work - claims trying to help, gets fired.

Caught hacking with pants down 2018 at "work" - claims trying to help, leaves in shame.

Keep it up, 2019 is really gonna be your year!

Had no idea you had @frystikken small cock so far down your throat.

Ill entertain you; if any of these are true where are the legal proceedings? Or are you making baseless allegations that not even the "employers that caught my with my pants down" didn't?

You are a sad excuse for a human and I honestly feel sorry for your "team" running @noblewitness. Go back to running your super successful IT firm, lmfao.

" if any of these are true where are the legal proceedings"

Just as an aside: unless the people you hacked filed claims or you were investigated by the feds, there wouldn't be any legal proceedings. This is a non-sequitur.

Just been informed you are a rent-a-lawyer. Keep encouraging your client to pile onto his slander because if I get bored one day it could be fun to have.

And hopefully you represent the other rag-tag gang of individuals from SteemSpeak on this post because their actions combined build a stronger case against either of them.

Enjoy your homeless RV life. I don't need to burn you any further, you do just fine on your own.

If you must know, I decided to put that on pause and it is parked in my parent's back yard while I reside comfortably in the gutter. Not in tall grass, no not like you did.

Remember, if you need to say your own comment was a burn, it likely wasn't. Get hip to the times old geezer.

I owned my 17 acres of tall grass and now I am moving to the nice house I just closed on. Say hi to your mom for me.

!popcorn

!pancakes


Thanks for contacting Pancakes Express!

Would you like to order pancakes?

Please upvote this comment with your order:

UpvoteOrder
$0.01+random delicious pancake
$0.05+excellent pancakes suited for a king or queen
$0.25+party pancakes
$1+best pancakes we have ever made
$?it's ninja!

If you would like to order your own pancakes, just make a comment !pancakes anywhere on the blockchain and we will send you a menu.

@sircork, your pancakes are ready!
Source

Ah yes. Children dance around eating popcorn. Adults enjoy something a little bit more refined, like delicious pancakes.

Going forward, I would highly suggest you consider your investment in this network and think about what it would mean to you if you no longer had the ability to transact (power down, transfer, delegate, update witness, etc). I know I will take my account working again as a miracle and take a step back and re-evaluate my level of risk involved in such an unpredictable network. Perhaps when things stabilize a bit Steem will be as appealing an investment to me as it ever was.

This is the part that worries me in this post. It sounds a bit Banfieldian to suggest people should leave, while being a fairly high level witness. I'll likely irritate you with this comment @netuoso, because I understand you and your assertion which is essentially analogue to "do your own research, invest wisely" is in and of itself, logical advice.

But to Fyrst's point, witness optics, are a thing... #justsayin

Your and his comment amongst many others I saw are reasons why I will be removing my large stake and divesting into other, safer projects.

Not sure how this is bad because I have had a larger stake than a lot of the top 20 witnesses since before I was a top witness. Don't be jealous that my stake is larger than yours (you have like 600 Steem?) and I have decided to divest a bit. And yes, I recommend that people reevaluate if they are ok with a blockchain that can lock in their funds for a decade and then victim blame the user for the system fuckup. Just go ask for more free delegation so you can use steem to pretend to save the world while you get fat on other people's dime, Sally Struthers.

@fyrstikken my account has nothing to do with you little man boy. Had Steem actually destroyed my account, my witness was running unaffected. In fact, I was suggested to exploit my witness to force transactions thru with negative RC balance. Regardless, you aren't a respectable character around here and all you do is scream and cry like a child throwing a tantrum. You cant code shit and you have no idea what you are talking about. You just throw dumb money at dumber problems.

I'm not jealous, I own my company, I'm not fired from it for black hat hacking on production systems, and I don't have to make fun of you behind your back to pretty girls to get their attention. I already had it. Who is jealous of who?

As for stake. Sorry you took a beating. I sold at the height of the market and im buying again, not bailing with egg on my face and mass losses. Just sayin'

I haven't talked to you for more than a few minutes about random bullshit and because you are an emotional toddler and you won't go the fuck away.

Take a hint dude. No one likes you. That's why MSP kicked you out also.

Again, go on with your scam ass "charity". You never had much invested in steem so don't try to fool the public. You aren't fooling me.

Take a hint dude. No one likes you. That's why MSP kicked you out also.

Wow. You don't get out much, do you?

Now, that statement could be edited to read: "No one at MSP likes you." That's because the liberal dosing of a very toxic Kool-Aid goes on there. It seems people are not encouraged to think for themselves but must adopt a certain pack mentality...it's distressing to watch, but nothing can be done so here we are. It seems you drank your share and then some of that Kool-Aid.

your scam ass "charity"

Just one more point proving how out of touch you are.

You are the only witness I ever unvoted, Netty. I saw how you behaved in private MSP channels last year, what an arrogant bully you are, and how disdainfully you spoke about "smaller" users who reached out to you. You said they weren't even worth responding to, that you wouldn't even have a conversation with anyone under a certain SP. That told me all I would ever need to know about you.

Your massive vote made me lose sleep for weeks

And without proof your words are pointless. Go find logs or a screenshot. You can't because I never said such bullshit woman.

Nah, you recall history wrong. I quit and sammos lapdog banned well after that because i kept exposing his scams, where are they now? And aggroed is scared enough of real substance that he literally bullies his own staff out of downright fear. Happy to publish the proof, only they already put him on a leash and muzzled him in an internal trial when they saw the proof.

See, vapor cant stand up to a solid substance. Hence why you can sling mud and I can sling facts.

As to the "scam ass charity" - cool the people all over the world who have benefited, disagree and the proof is all in the chain, open to the world to review.

I dont sneak around at night hacking my way through life in shame, like you did from New Orleans and are doing right now.

And that really burns your ass, doesn't it.

roflmao, you sound so small right now. But then you are only like 4 feet tall so... goes with the territory?

It is like conversing with a mental patient that escaped the hospital. And like you said, me being from New Orleans, I have seen a lot of that.

Keep pulling back the veil for the general public here. You are too insignificant to most to be known, but its fun seeing you attack your own image.

The sheer irony of @fyrstikken calling someone greedy.

"What I didn't know was that if you claim a lot of the accounts in a short period of time, and the account claiming activity increases quickly before your transactions are signed into a block, the cost you paid and the price you are charged in RC can GREATLY diverge."

So, in other words, you were effectively penalized for spam claiming accounts. You complaining about this would be funny if you weren't being sincere. The only criticism that comes to my mind is that the same thing didn't consistently happen to everyone else doing the same thing.

Reap what you sow, bud.

If you go to the store and they have a sale for, lets say stale donuts. And they cost $0.01 a piece. So you are like, fuck yeah I like stale donuts, I will take 100 please. You hand over $1.00 and you go home, happy.

No problem there.

Now let's say you head home; then a bunch of people go to the store and see the stale donuts and buy some. After that, the store decided their donuts are actually the best donuts ever and worth more. By time you get home, the store changed their price, unbeknownst to you, to $100,000 a piece. Now your 100 donuts cost $10,000,000 and the charge is forced thru to your account.

NOW, you can no longer use that account until you regenerate back the $10,000,000 from your original balance prior to the event.

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, THIS IS THE BLOCKCHAIN YOU ARE USING RIGHT NOW


Join the victim blaming bandwagon if you want @anarcho-andrei

Chill out, dude. I didn't understand this was an issue, and thus far no one explained it to me in any discernable way. I'd like to thank @crimsonclad for doing that prior to this response. That being the case, I withdraw my previous criticism.

Thank you. I feel there are far less logical people on this platform than I previously assumed. No one seems to grasp the drastic issue that this was, and is. It is my understanding there is still the issue but the negative debt has a cap to it now.

A debt cap is much more reasonable. A decade is not reasonable.

Sounds like somebody tried to steal the donuts, got caught shoplifting, and is now trying to claim he was "just testing security"

Yeah, all the other convicts in a jail will tell you they were innocent too.

ROFLMAO, how ridiculous can you possibly even sound? I bet moreso. Keep it up. It's pretty amusing watching you show up to a battle of wits unencumbered of a viable weapon.

This coming from a person that claims to have run some IT company. Dude if you ever did I'm being so real right now; thank God on your employees behalf you left.

I learned a lot about the type of people on this network both in the community and in SteemIt during this time.

"Noble" people you are attacking me over a system bug.

Notice it was fixed right? Everything you say seems to be countered by the actual actions of Steem. Hrmmmm. Is that because everyone else is crazy or just you?

Hrm, sounds like you are still butt hurt I own a house, a million dollar company and people like me, while you are unemployed, live at your moms and nobody cares about you or this post at all.

BTW, fyrst, and many other people who have relevance here have voted us for quite some time. Never voted you though. Imagine that.

Funny, I didn't see you at the white house while accepting my award for my integrity and service in technology unless that was you out front mowing the lawn?

A MILLION DOLLAR COMPANY!!!1!1!1!

He says with a total Steem investment of around $1000. You know I'm 29 right, old man?

I have $50k to throw into a random fucking venture. I'm either stupid or not really worried about your broken ass "house" that doesn't have proper running water.

Lol, I paid my devs 50K last month. Difference? I'm not clinging to this as my only source of income and pissing it away like you did. I'm here for the chuckles, and you are a prime example of a chucklefuck.

Rhonda was wrong. YOU should get a job in a circus. You can hack the elephant shit to the dumpster next to your house on wheels.

Still lacking reading comprehension skills though. I've told you repeatedly I sold the 17 acres you could never manage to live on in your miserable failed life, and BOUGHT a house. But hey ,words are as hard as trying to successfully stay employed for you...

Blockchain jesus saved us again. The great RC depression of Q3 2018 can't keep us down, it just kept us from transacting. :D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 130 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @netuoso! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @netuoso! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @netuoso,

You are one of my Steemit witnesses, and as such I hope you'll pardon this off-topic contact.

I'm here to inform you of a fantastic opportunity to promote STEEM.

Please check out the information in my article:

STEEM On Netcoins Contest: EVERYbody Wins!

I'm not looking for your vote or reSteem...

I am asking you to take action to promote this!
It seems clear to me that it will benefit the entire Steemit community.

Thank you in advance for your consideration!

😄😇😄

@creatr