You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 21 is HAPPENING. What will change?

in #hf215 years ago

I rarely speak out when it comes to technical aspects of anything... but...

Rewards
The rewards curve is changing. We expect posts that would make more than 20 STEEM under the old rules to earn more after the changes. Those posts that would have made less than 20 STEEM under the old rules will receive less after the changes

Isn't this just another case of the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer (struggling)?

Back in the day when steem/SBD was worth a pot to piss in some of my posts would earn over 20 steem (thanks to blocktrades and other various larger accounts who followed me). I had some posts that were near $100. Now I struggle to stay between $5-$10. Granted I took a month off earlier this year when my husband had a heart attack and heart surgery, but since I joined just over two years ago I have been a mainstay, dedicated to posting and commenting... now to be told keep doing what you're doing and you'll get rewarded even less; which makes me want to toss up my hands and say oh well... just another way to work my heart and soul into something only to barely scrape by. I don't willy-nilly post a picture with two sentences and whip on out the door. I make decent posts, share knowledge, share my daily life, etc.

@viking-ventures mentioned curie votes. I've never relied upon curie votes (the reasoning is not relevant to this post or comment). but have had some in the past- early days.

@vikings-venture also mentioned

What's your plan to keep good bloggers around? What's your plan to attract new ones?

So, yes. What about retention? Good payouts, keeping a good line of commenting and communication engaged and positivity to keep people coming back to post.

Reward Split
Reward funding is being changed from the 75/25 split that currently exists, to a 50/50 split between author and curator. That means you will be rewarded significantly more for curating content after the fork

Is this enough to compensate lesser of the rewards? For me yes. I used to do TONS of curating, commenting, etc, but slipped off the wagon last year when real life took some negative turns. So I guess to earn my keep (so to speak), I'll go back to the old ways which seemed to work well for me.

Sort:  

Reposting from my comment to @jenina619 who also voiced concern about this being about the rich getting richer:

This is not true. These changes are designed to ensure that good content is more likely to earn more rewards and good curators are more likely to earn more curation rewards. That means that if you're a good content creator, the odds are that your good posts will earn more rewards. It also means that if someone who is just posting low-value posts and self-upvoting them, or using fake accounts to upvote them, they will be much less likely to earn much from that activity. They will also be more likely to earn a downvote now that everyone is getting some free downvotes. This will free up rewards that are being distributed to malicious users who are exploiting the system just so they can cash out, and make those rewards available to good content creators. These changes only impact the rewards pool, which is not distributed based on wealth except when people render self-votes. But these changes are specifically targeted at making self-votes LESS profitable and easier to police. So, in fact, the result should be the exact opposite of "the rich getting richer."

These changes only impact the rewards pool, which is not distributed based on wealth except when people render self-votes. But these changes are specifically targeted at making self-votes LESS profitable and easier to police. So, in fact, the result should be the exact opposite of "the rich getting richer."

Thank you for clarifying that information. I appreciate it.
Now I guess we sit back... wait until the clock ticks away for August 27th at 11 AM to arrive.